"The World Outside"

(Break Silence)

01. Heights
02. Hourglass
03. Deadly Weapons
04. Interlude
05. The World Outside
06. March Of The Dead
07. Wake Me Up
08. The Hollow Pt. 1
09. The Hollow
10. Risen
11. Her Eyes Hold The Apocalypse
12. Come Home

RATING: 3.5/10

I tried to find some redeeming value in "The World Outside"; I even tried to enjoy it. I just couldn't. Tempe, Arizona's EYES SET TO KILL will satisfy a good many folks out there and it would appear that the critical reaction thus far has been relatively positive. But all I hear is an overly generic, overly formulaic, and just not very convincing brand of female-fronted growl 'n croon metalcore.

And it's not like I can't appreciate the style from time to time. In fact, I recall finding IN THIS MOMENT's "Beautiful Tragedy" to be at least decent, even if it's not an album I ever reach for (I never did hear "The Dream", so pardon me if it sucks). The same goes for STRAIGHT LINE STITCH with "When Skies Wash Ashore", a strong combination of aggression and soaring melodic vocals. But as objective as I've tried to be over several separate listening sessions, I found that "The World Outside" succeeds in neither its aggressively metallic moments nor its fluidly melodic ones. That's not to say that that songwriting is terrible from a purely objective standpoint; it's just generic as hell. The melodies aren't very memorable and even though Alexia Rodriguez has a pleasant enough voice, it sound awfully cookie-cutter to me. Even a decent enough, driving tune like "March of the Dead" (which is almost more modern rock than metalcore) fails to really sink the hooks in deep, while piano ballad "Come Home" isn't exactly moving. However, opener "Heights" isn't too bad, though vanilla continues to be the flavor of the day and things get old quick after that point. The interplay with the harsh/aggressive vocals of keyboardist Brandon Anderson only occasionally adds value.

There are worse albums than "The Outside World". I just hear very little in the way of pop melodies that grab or aggressive moments that get the adrenaline pumping. The infusion of keyboards and the attempt at dynamic vocal structuring doesn't save it either. There is an audience for this album; I'm just not part of it. Pass.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).