"The Unborn"


01. Pure
02. The Harmony Remains
03. Parasites of Paradise
04. Two Steps Away
05. Altered State Consciousness
06. Spirit-Conception
07. The Unborn
08. Fragile Flesh
09. Pressure
10. The Glass Womb

RATING: 7.5/10

Musical depth is in abundance on "The Unborn", the second album from Finland's MORS PRINCIPIUM EST. Somewhere around the third listen, the confluence of the choral synth work, melodic prowess, and punishing death/thrash metal (Swedish style) overtakes the listener. Taking the aggression of a CENTINEX (and pieces of the layered approach of latter-day DARKANE) and surrounding it with lush orchestration (including the occasional gothic style female vocal) makes the album more bombastic and somewhat more experimental than the average platter of melodic Scandinavian death metal. I would not go so far as to call it boundary-pushing, as the bludgeoning arrangements still remind one of the genre leaders, but it is no run of the mill exercise in death metal futility.

Moving further into the recesses of the disc, one often feels as though a trick has been played. An initial focus on the electronic effects, the beautiful female singing, or the lush orchestration can make one forget, if only momentarily, the sheer devastation of the raging death metal powering this beast. Taken together, the effect can be overwhelming. Once settled into the album's groove, its beauty-and-the-beast qualities rise to the surface. Album opener "Pure" represents the height of the band's challenging mix, the title track and "Fragile Flesh" close behind. Stripping away some of the flavoring reveals that "Two Steps Away" is the album's most brutally grooving death metal/thrash basher, albeit with a chorus that sticks with you the second or third time through. The dreamy synth lines are worked into the arrangements in such a way as to heighten the quality without lessening the impact. The cover of MEGADETH's "Blood of Heroes" (one of two bonus tracks on the limited edition digipack) is well done.

MORS PRINCIPIUM EST is clearly on to something with "The Unborn". I am not prepared to crown them the new kings (I'm impressed, not blown away), but this is definitely a band to watch and an album to check out.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).