"The Trident"


01. Permanent Ice
02. Decrepitude
03. You get what you Want
04. The Air Exits, The Sea accepts me
05. Scarlet
06. Wake up and smell the Corpses
07. Firebrand
08. In Self,Infinite
09. Where the Unbelievable is Ordinary

RATING: 7.5/10

Relapse has a nose for sniffing out those special kinds of acts that usually bridge gaps, push boundaries, or possess that something extra to help set them apart from the rest of the herd. NYC's UNEARTHLY TRANCE is not quite as "out there" as vocalist/guitarist/noise-maker Ryan Lipynksy's black metal expeditionary force, THRALLDOM, but this third full-length release and first for Relapse does paint its doom and noisy atmospherics with a variety of colors. A Sanford Parker production is always well-suited for this kind of sonic boom artistry (the "main tracks" were recorded at Steve Albini's Electrical Audio Studios).

UNEARTHLY TRANCE does not run a drone marathon (like some its Southern Lord compatriots), rub you raw with unrelenting sludge, or forcibly induce acid-tripping histrionics. Instead, the trio, which also includes Jay Newman (bass/noise) and Darren Verni (drums), takes element of all these styles and creates a varied album that works well in feeding the brain and scarring the nerves. Still, a sizeable chunk of the material stops short of esoteric ramble and rocks hard in a way that brings a freakier HIGH ON FIRE or MASTODON to mind, as "You Get What You Want" and "Wake Up and Smell the Corpses" so aptly demonstrate. Riff-heavy and monolithic churnings with sprinkles of the ethereal (whether it is whispered or echoed vocals, light picking, etc) are heard elsewhere, as is the case on "Scarlet", "The Air Exits, The Sea Accepts Me", "In Self, Infinite", and "Firebrand". The loud and distorted "Permanent Ice" and the outright nerve-fraying ruckus of "Where the Unbelievable is Ordinary" serve as appropriate bookends.

Some may yearn for past mind-bending releases like "Frostwalkwithme" (Parasitic Records), "Season of Séance, Science of Silence" and "In the Red" (both on Rise Above), while others may welcome the twists and turns of UT 2006. It matters little, as earth moving intensity is the common thread. Personally, I'm not moved to call "The Trident" a work of sheer genius, but I am appreciative and generally intrigued with the depth of the material. An absorbing release to be sure.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).