"The Silent Force"


01. Intro
02. See Who I Am
03. Jillian (I'd Give my Heart)
04. Stand My Ground
05. Pale
06. Forsaken
07. Angels
08. Memories
09. Aquarius
10. It's The Fear
11. Somewhere

RATING: 9/10

In the wake of EVANESCENCE's massive worldwide success, it is no surprise that virtually every female-fronted guitar-heavy group is being compared to Amy Lee and Co., even when the similarities are marginal, at best (see LACUNA COIL).

In WITHIN TEMPTATION's case, red flags were raised earlier thus year when the Dutch band came out with their new single, "Stand My Ground", which displayed some decidedly EVANESCENCE-esque elements while staying largely true to the group's tried-and-tested hard rock sound. Although the song itself wasn't quite as radio-friendly as EVANESCENCE's breakthrough hit, "Bring Me To Life", WITHIN TEMPTATION appeared to have adopted a more streamlined, pop-tinged approach — one that was accentuated with the release of the song's accompanying video, which, like the aforementioned "Bring Me To Life", featured the band performing on top of a tall building.

Thankfully, the rest of "The Silent Force" should dispel any notion that WITHIN TEMPTATION have sold their souls in search of commercial success. As has become the group's trademark, there is plenty of epic-like, orchestral instrumentation and soaring vocal work by Sharon den Adel — undoubtedly the group's most potent weapon — who never fails to amaze with her stunning, flawless delivery. The songs themselves are extremely well constructed and are devoid of any truly blatant attempts at a more pop-like approach, with the band focusing on composing long-winded ambitious epics that are as dark-sounding as they are beautiful (just listen to "Pale"). At least some of the credit should also go to producer Daniel Gibson, who co-wrote four songs with the group, including first single "Stand My Ground". Amazingly enough, the thick instrumentation and Sharon's angelic delivery are never at odds with each other — a rare feat when it comes to music as complex and involved as WITHIN TEMPTATION's is.

It will be interesting to see if WITHIN TEMPTATION will be able to achieve any level of success in the United States, where they are bound to be dismissed as EVANESCENCE imitators by those who do not take the time to explore the band's music beyond their first commercially released single. For my money, however, "The Silent Force" stands as a masterful collection of songs that should go down as one of the top albums of 2004.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).