"The Sickness Within"


01. The White Fever
02. The Fallen Shall Rise In a River of Blood
03. Reaper of Life
04. Sickness Within
05. Murderous Intent
06. The Coming of Chaos
07. Bleed to Death
08. Heaven Is Ready To Fall
09. Seeds of Shame
10. Chamber Master
11. Marked By Darkness

RATING: 7/10

"Melodic Swedish thrash" is a term that may make your eyes glaze over these days. But two things you should know about HATESPHERE — one, they're Danish. Two, they put a lot more emphasis on the "thrash" than the "melodic" portion of that epithet. HATESPHERE do little in the way of experimentation or progressive straining here, opting instead to stick with meaty, riff-driven thrash that'll mightily please the faithful.

Songs like the ripping "The Coming of Chaos" and powerful opener "The White Fever" will call to mind "Made Me Do It" era THE HAUNTED, and there's certainly nothing wrong with that! There's that inimitable thrash tempo, some nice twin-guitar work in a midtempo midsection, hoarse screaming vocals, and plenty of double-fisted riffs to keep any metalhead worth their salt banging away.

Of course, there's also the fact that nothing HATESPHERE does really stands out here — the band pushes all the right thrash buttons, but don't have any flair or personality of their own. The vocals, particularly, are a bit generic, and some songs are just patched-together collections of b-grade riffs (tell me there's anything that stands out about "Bleed to Death" or the plodding "Seeds of Shame", for instance).

But when they blast into a shot of pure adrenaline like "Heaven Is Ready To Fall", nitpicking and criticism goes out the window. At their best, HATESPHERE are like mainlining audio caffeine — a jolt to the system that evokes a primal reaction. They don't do much else (and based on the couple lines of cringe-inducing clean vocals they throw in, they might not want to), but it's enough to satisfy a basic hunger for speed and aggression. "The Sickness Within" won't move HATESPHERE up to the A-list of modern-day Eurothrash, but it's a fine mid-grade effort that'll keep the band opening tours and haunting the record bins until they can make that step up to the next level.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).