"The Panic Broadcast"

(Nuclear Blast)

01. Late for the Kill, Early for the Slaughter
02. Two Lives Worth of Reckoning
03. The Thrill
04. Deliverance is Mine
05. Night Comes Clean
06. King of the Threshold
07. Let This River Flow
08. Epitome
09. The Akuma Afterglow
10. Enter Dog Of Pavlov

RATING: 8/10

SOILWORK has been used as a reference for so many years now when critics describe the oodles of often generic metalcore and melodic death metal bands that base their songs on aggressive verses and cleanly sung choruses that one almost forgets that the Swedes are the stalwarts of the style, not the also-rans. In other words, SOILWORK albums are often the gold standard when it comes to balancing modern death/thrash metal's aggression with pop's catchiness and in fact are one of the few that continue to do it successfully. If "The Panic Broadcast" doesn't shock you back into that reality, then either you've not been paying attention or you just can't stand melody or singing in your metal.

"Sworn to a Great Divide" may not have been "Stabbing the Drama" and was one that left me lukewarm, but it still beat many of the albums from groups mimicking the style. The return of guitarist/songwriter Peter Wichers for the making of "The Panic Broadcast" surely resulted in the new album's structural cohesion and more memorable melodies, making it one that rivals "Stabbing the Drama" for lasting appeal. The new long player also sees SOILWORK returning to a more aggressive style, even more so than "Stabbing the Drama", whilst ensuring that melody remains a primary component. Many of the songs triumph for their pugnacious qualities alone; "Two Lives worth of Reckoning" and "King of the Threshold" are stone cold killers in that regard. "Deliverance is Mine" is a defining moment for the balance struck between those same attributes and a great dynamic chorus that is remarkable for its blurring of fury and infectiousness. That "Let This River Flow" stands as the album's most accessible track and Björn "Speed" Strid's most endearing cleanly sung vocals on the supremely catchy chorus, yet still fits snugly within the overall flow is a testament to SOILWORK's reclaiming of the songwriting throne.

"The Panic Broadcast" defines "return to form" and exemplifies the reason why the Swedish greats transcend notions of 21st Century melody in extreme metal. Never count out SOILWORK. It is a mistake you'll never live down.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).