"The Nemesis Construct"

(Twilight Zone)

01. Alternative Dead End
02. Nothing To Lose
03. Dark Side Of The Sun
04. Story Of A Psychopath
05. An End To The Age Of Man
06. Point Zero
07. Excite!
08. As My Bride Cries Blood
09. This Time
10. The Green Mile
11. Diary Of Nightmares...
12. Invain
13. World Escape

RATING: 6.5/10

In its purest form it is called Swedish melodic death metal, which in and of itself isn't all that pure and rarely Swedish these days. Though varying in its tried and true form, melodic metalcore as heard through an Americanized filter through which the likes of AT THE GATES and IN FLAMES have passed is probably a more accurate description of "The Nemesis Construct" from Germany's EMERGENCY GATE. Whatever way you decide to slice it into tiny little pieces this is modern, heavy, and very melodic metal that is rather decent, if only distinct on the margins.

EMERGENCY GATE can certainly credit acts like SOILWORK, CALIBAN, and to some extent KILLSWITCH ENGAGE, if for no other reason than on "The Nemesis Construct" those cleanly sung choruses are pretty well written and catchy, particularly those on the album's first half. The new kings they are not, but the sextet at least took note of the fact that clean choruses do not by design equate to memorable ones and seemingly spent time weeding out the weakest ones. One of those glistening refrains can be heard on "Dark Side of the Sun" on which EVERGREY's Thomas Englund makes a guest vocal appearance, although his presence automatically makes the song a shade darker. It is an album highlight and in good company with "Alternative Dead End", "Nothing to Lose", "An End to the Age of Man", and "Point Zero". The keyboard work of Daniel Schmidle further enhances the melodies, keeping it classy and never serving to distract. When vocalist Matthias Kupka isn't reaching for the stars, he's driving verses through brick walls whilst his band mates knock out bruising riffs and battering rhythms for the duration.

On the downside, the production is compressed and muddy; while tolerable, clarity does suffer and breathing room is nonexistent. That and the fact that the album begins to peter out around "The Green Mile" are the main problems. Ten tracks would have been plenty; welcomes begin showing wear at 13. Otherwise "The Nemesis Construct" thunders and croons well past mediocre. Just don't expect it to lead any kind of resurgence.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).