"The Fall of Ideals"


01. This Calling
02. Not Alone
03. It Dwells On Me
04. We Stand
05. Whispers (I Hear You)
06. The Weak Willed
07. Six
08. Become The Catalyst
09. The Air That I Breathe
10. Empty Inside
11. Indictment

RATING: 7.5/10

After about a billion shows with a million different bands over the last couple of years, ALL THAT REMAINS has finally kicked out a new album, "The Fall of Ideals". An incendiary live act, the already tight musicianship seems to have been honed further this time. As far as metalcore goes, ALL THAT REMAINS have always been one of the more accomplished bands of the genre, and the increased use of clean vocals and contagious melodies has made "The Fall of Ideals" an improvement from its solid predecessor, "This Darkened Heart".

Though in now way an expansion of the form, on the new album ALL THAT REMAINS effortlessly blends thrashy twin guitar fireworks and Phil Labonte's raging vocals with soaring clean vocals and overall tunefulness. One could choose to call much of the material on "The Fall of Ideals" formulaic, but it is a formula that usually works. Songs like openers "This Calling" (the first single) and "Not Alone" are undeniably memorable, both real scorchers from a heaviness standpoint and both immediately catchy. By the time the disc arrives at track five, "Whispers (I Hear You)", the formula does begin to wear a bit thin, but only because it becomes an expectation, not because there is anything patently wrong with the music. But then "The Weak Willed" hits and breaks from the formula by staying largely with a heavy delivery and harsh vocal style. The track does include a clean vocal in parts, but it works more as an enhancement of the song dynamics than any kind of heavy-to-melodic format.

What may get lost in the incessant banter about formulas and trends is the sheer intensity and talent of the musicians, led by the white-hot playing of guitarists Mike Martin and Oli Herbert. There is no denying that those guys play their assess of here and the result is immensely gratifying. Drummer Shannon Lucas is a war machine as well. Along with bassist Jeanne Sagan, the rhythmic power of the duo is undeniable. Topped off with a crisp and thunderous production by KILLSWITCH ENGAGE's Adam D., "The Fall of Ideals" will do nothing to redefine metalcore, but it is an enjoyable listen nonetheless.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).