"The Empires of Inhumanity"

(Metal Blade)

01. The Last Prayer (Intro)
02. Wake the Dead
03. Nothing to Regret
04. Haunting Metal
05. Another Rotten Life
06. Empires of Inhumanity
07. Into Your Face
08. Rapture for Disaster
09. The Prophecy
10. Way to Immortality
11. Ravenous
12. Killers

RATING: 6.5/10

Nobody can accuse Berlin's FATAL EMBRACE of jumping on the retro-thrash bandwagon, regardless of Metal Blade releasing "The Empires of Inhumanity" in the thick of the trend. The band formed in 1993 as NOSFERATU before changing the name. Fans of thrash played in heyday form will find nothing distasteful about "The Empires of Inhumanity", an album that stays stubbornly true to the basics.

Nothing wrong with that, right? Wrongness or rightness, "The Empires of Inhumanity" is unashamed thrash metal that apes '80s SLAYER ("Hell Awaits" and some degree of "Reign in Blood") in a big way, especially the vocal patterns of Heiländer, including his spot-on Tom Araya scream. "Wake the Dead" and "Ravenous" represent that particular approach to the nth degree, doing it well without any semblance of originality whatsoever. Surely owing to the German background, the incendiary disc also features a fair amount of KREATOR and SODOM, as well as the occasional nod to early TESTAMENT, while the eerie slow builds of "Empires of Inhumanity" are reminiscent of METAL CHURCH's self-titled debut LP. How could diehard fans of vintage thrash metal level complaints with those kinds of comparisons?

They couldn't. The billowing smoke burns the nostrils with the smell of 1986 and very few will ever find that discomforting. In typical terms, it is the admission of the more well round metal fan that "The Empires of Inhumanity", while thoroughly enjoyable and competently written, does nothing to raise the bar set by those hallowed acts. If it is head banging that you seek, then it is head banging that you shall get with FATAL EMBRACE's new album. As the old saying goes, it is what it is. Some will be gush with thankfulness for it; others will offer appreciative sentiments and move on.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).