"The Devil's Fractal"

(Profound Lore)

01. Sermon On The Mount
02. Under Satan's Sun
03. Tabernacle Of Perdition
04. Kaivalya Of The Black Magician
05. I Am The Adversary
06. The Devil's Fractal Part I
07. The Devil's Fractal Part II

RATING: 8.5/10

Andrew Markuszewski (NACHTMYSTIUM, LORD MANTIS) was really onto something big with 2007 AVICHI release "The Divine Tragedy". Atmospheric, yet muscular, and progressively mind, the black metal he created captivated on levels both musical and lyrical without abandoning the fundamentals that make the style coarse and threatening. Four years later, the man has fully realized his vision on "The Devil's Fractal", one of the best black metal albums released thus far in 2011; its current status is destined to remain unchanged at year's end.

"The Devil's Fractal" takes a muscular framework and unbridled aggression, and then integrates an intelligent form of arrangement that is rife with menacing atmospherics and progressive leanings. The final product is felt in ways visceral and cerebral. Driving — though not simply blast-beaten — tempos are bolstered by drumming that threatens to knock the earth off its axis, while the black metal guitar work is traditional in one sense, yet kept from becoming a one-dimensional blur of minor-note harmonies. More importantly, it is written in a memorable and creative way. Often in the six to seven-minute range (closing cuts aside) the compositions split the difference between catchiness and menace. The smart transitioning and relative degree of diversity of "Sermon of the Mount" alone offers more compositional intrigue than the entirety of most black metal release of the prosaic variety. Markuszewski's mid-range, intelligible rasp enhance greatly the pure malice of "Under Satan's Sun", including certain stabbing riffs that come off as sonic manifestations of a knife attack on a cursed nemesis. Then again, "nemesis" is the most apt description of the views on Christianity revealed in the lyrics; no quarter for the pious, that's a certainty.

Pertaining to arrangements and lyrics then, everything on "The Devil's Fractal" has its place and not a note seems random, whether the percussive accents heard on "I am the Adversary" or the cavernous spoken croaks in "Tabernacle of Perdition". Completing the album with the nearly 20 minutes of dynamic arrangement across the two title tracks (parts I and II) works to drive those points home and speaks of the vast potential for greatness yet to be fulfilled on the next AVICHI release. Highly recommended.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).