"The Deep and Dreamless Sleep"

(Screaming Ferret)

01. Permanently Damaged
02. God and Man
03. Undefeated
04. The Deep and Dreamless Sleep
05. Twisted Wreck
06. Curse
07. Last of the Wanted
08. Take What You Want

RATING: 6.5/10

Never been a big fan of these Boston trad-metal water-treaders, from their somewhat plodding and generic major label days to their more recent, hopeless and low-buck efforts. And I wasn't expecting to change my mind based on the "Xeroxed tree" motif of the cover of "The Deep and Dreamless Sleep", or the generally desperate and cheap aura of the packaging. And eight tracks? There has to be a back story on why this band has always been so stingy with the tunes (their Epic debut, "Kill to Survive", sported a whopping seven songs, though at least one was removed due to lyrical content – these guys must write at a pace that would embarrass SACRED REICH).

But it's hard to be too rough on MELIAH RAGE here. Sure, "The Deep and Dreamless Sleep" is pretty pedestrian metal, middle-of-the-road riffing with gruffly melodic bar-band-guy vocals, but the whole mess seems a bit more likable this time out, a little more thought out and catchy. The band continues to work a middle ground they've found between heavier, thrashier fare and a more commercial hard rock sound, especially since workmanlike vocalist Paul Souza took over a few years back. The result is not too far removed from other tradition-minded metal outfits of their age group — you could almost call 'em a bargain-basement METAL CHURCH at this point (the two are touring the US together next month).

There's definite potential in harmonic rockers like the brooding "God and Man" and the upbeat "Undefeated". The latter, especially, fuses a few basic building blocks of guitar ideas into an appealing combination, a faster-paced rah-rah anthem with a tough-guy chorus not far removed from something that, say, BRAND NEW SIN would come up with. The title track lets Souza stretch a little bit vocally, and the band turns in another killer chorus on "Last of the Wanted". "Curse" turns up the speed and intensity a little bit, but ends up wallowing in its own played-out riffs, with little to recommend it. That's the main problem here — too many generic moments that just don't grab the listener.

"The Deep and Dreamless Sleep" is a decent slab of lunkhead biker metal from a band whose largest achievement in two decades is simply not dying. That may sound uncharitable, but the band does seem to be on an upswing, creatively speaking — hopefully it doesn't take them another twenty years to get from "not bad" to "essential."


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).