"The Code is Red…Long Live the Code"

(Century Media)

01. Silence is Deafening
02. Right You Are
03. Diplomatic Immunity
04. Code is Red...Long Live The Code
05. Climate Controllers
06. Instruments of Persuasion
07. The Great and the Good
08. Sold Short
09. All Hail the Grey Dawn
10. Vegetative State
11. Pay for the Priviledge of Breathing
12. Pledge Yourself to You
13. Striding Purposefully Backwards
14. Morale
15. Our Pain is their Power

RATING: 8/10

I'm continually amazed at NAPALM DEATH's ability to not only stay relevant in the extreme music scene, but also the way in which the band manages to stand out in the grindcore and death metal genres. The last two full-length albums of original material, "Enemy of the Music Business" and "Order of the Leech", saw the band standing closer to the death metal side of the line, even though the distinctive grindcore elements are still firmly in place. What is surprising about "The Code is Red…Long Live the Code" is how those grindcore elements shift back to the forefront. It's almost as if Barney and the boys spent time re-reading the NAPALM DEATH parts (of which there are many) in Albert Mudrian's book, "Choosing Death: The Improbable History of Death Metal and Grindcore", and got a little nostalgic.

The album sounds like what I heard (and felt) when I saw NAPALM DEATH perform with CANNIBAL CORPSE this past fall, something that I can't say about the previous two releases. This isn't to say that both albums aren't strong efforts (far from it), only that there is a freshness and renewal of rabidity on "The Code is Red…Long Live the Code". The disc has a live energy to it that is electrifying. Mitch Harris' distinctive guitar tone and style, as well as Danny Herrera's classic grindcore drumming, are just plain savage. Herrera's kit battery is something akin to controlled chaos, as opposed to the mechanical blasts that are often heard in technical death metal. Danny's approach works exceedingly well on this album just like it does on VENOMOUS CONCEPT's "Retroactive Abortion" (an album that Shane Embury also appears on).

Song-wise, it's an all-out assault of sheer brute force and lots of speed (yeah, that kind too). The title track, "Silence is Deafening", and "Climate Controllers", are but a few of an album's worth of superior hardcore-inflected, death metal-laced grindcore. "Right you Are", "Diplomatic Immunity", and "Pay for the Privilege of Breathing" are the quick hitters, all clocking in at less than two minutes ("Right you Are" is less than one!). Hearing Jello Biafra's demented vocals on "The Great and the Good" had me smiling from ear to ear. As if Jello wasn't enough, HATEBREED's Jamey Jasta and CARCASS' Jeff Walker contribute guest parts to the album as well.

It's all caffeine overdoses and uncontrollable seizures until the fourteenth track, "Morale", throws you for a loop. The song's doomy beat, creepy atmosphere (including Barney's bizarre vocals), and machine-like chill is a sharp left turn from the road drive by the previous tunes. "Our Pain is their Power" is more or less an extension of "Morale", clocking in at just over two minutes and completing the strange trip. A tripped out video of "Morale" is also included. So much for predictability.

"The Code is Red…Long Live the Code" takes the spirit of the early years and combines it with the impeccable musicianship and sheer rage of the latter day material. I happen to think it's a lethal combination.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).