"The Black Flame"


01. I Will Kill Again
02. At the Graveyard
03. Black Magic
04. The Bite
05. Make Friends With Your Nightmares
06. Demon
07. The Dead
08. Seize the Night
09. Steelwinged Savage Reaper
10. Children of the Black Flame

RATING: 7.5/10

When WOLF first came onto the scene, their self-titled album cover sported a freaky-looking lupine fella, sort of a denim-and-leather Disco Stu as imagined by Maurice Sendak. Musically, the band stuck out like a fistful of sore thumbs, too — the power metal revival was kicking into high gear, but many of its Johnny-come-lately practitioners were long on cliché and short on songcraft. WOLF had both — enough feel-good retro cheese to make them fun as hell, but backed up with tunes you couldn't shake for weeks.

Now on their fourth long-player, the band has settled into a well-worn and welcome groove. Sure, the whole thing is melodramatic and silly — "At The Graveyard" recounts the tale of a conjoined twin, sacrificed so its partner could live, coming back from the dead for revenge, for chrissakes — but WOLF load each of these midtempo anthems with enough tasty guitar work, singalong choruses, and familiar headbanging grooves to warm all but the most cynical metal heart.

Eschewing the gallopy double-kick sort of power metal, WOLF dig into the meatier, more rock-and-roll strain of the beast, coming off at times like an updated SAXON, or a slightly grittier early '80s JUDAS PRIEST. There are occasional nods to MERCYFUL FATE too, never a bad thing (check out the dramatic choruses to "In the Graveyard" and "The Dead", as well as the impressive guitar melodies in the midsection of the latter). Occasionally, the cheap and disposable nature of the project is a little too tacky to ignore, as on the goofy Munsters-esque guitar hook of "Make Friends With Your Nightmares", but you just gotta take WOLF in the intended spirit — this is fun music for people who miss (or missed out on) the old-school melodic metal of the past, nothing more or less.

These days, you can dive headlong into an entire scene of retro-minded metallers who've basically decided to party like it's 1985, with only the slickness of their modern production setting them apart from their influences. If you're picking and choosing, though, you could do far worse than WOLF. At the end of the day, regardless of stylistic trappings, it all comes down to the strength of the songs – and WOLF has 'em in spades. If "The Black Flame" doesn't cause you to break into fist-waving singalongs or air-guitar seizures, then you, my friend, are just not very metal.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).