"Terrorist – Nekronaut Pt. 1"

(Season of Mist)

01. Nekronaut (Cunt Cunt Gimme More)
02. Black Metal Suicide (Claws of Perdition)
03. Hellcommander
04. Terrorist
05. Merket For Helvete
06. Eine Kleine Arschmuzick
07. Satan Is Endless, Satan Is Timeless
08. Primitive Death
09. Goat Worship
10. Catapvltam Vrinam Philosophiam
11. Preteen Deathfuck
12. Dinsadansdjeveldyrkaar
13. The Death of Nattefrost (Still Reaching For Hell Part II)

RATING: 7/10

In the incestuous, freewheeling black metal scene, side projects come and go faster than anyone with a life can keep up with them. NATTEFROST is on his second solo album, and this member of CARPATHIAN FOREST spends his time here gleefully taking the piss (at times literally), mocking black metal (the "clean vocals" in " Dinsadansdjeveldyrkaar" are as ridiculous as the song title), composing toilet-humor skits between songs, and going for the low road whenever possible (let's hear it for "Preteen Deathfuck").

The photo of (presumably) Nattefrost himself, corpse-painted, buck naked in the tub, cradling a bottle of booze, tells you more about the off-the-rails intent and crude debauchery of this audio filthride than any review could. When he's not dicking around, though, he comes up with some of that cool, thrash-out, fukk-off black metal that causes involuntary headbanging and shrieks of ghastly approval. The first song alone is a burner of almost IMPALED NAZARENE proportions, furious, fast and snarling, and the pace rarely lets up throughout.

The song titles are telling: "Goat Worship", "Primitive Death", "Black Metal Suicide (Claws of Perdition)". Really, this would be a disposable joke, but for the fact that it does rip and tear pretty hard. It's basic, head-down, over the top thrashing black metal, lyrically ludicrous even by the genre's outlandish standards, but possessed of enough methamphetamine energy to get even the most dour purist headbanging.

Two tracks consist of intimately-recorded bodily functions (a tradition carried over from debut "Blood and Vomit"), and a pointless fourteen-minute sound collage, "The Death of Nattefrost", is a time-waster, but these can easily be skipped. That leaves you with a good half hour or so of fast-action black metal thrashitude, low on originality but high on sardonic wrath, just the way fans of the aforementioned like it. Just barely worth a 7, but how can you not like it?


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).