"Tank Gasmask Ammo"


01. Napalm God
02. Mutant Slut
03. All Hail The Goat
04. Tank Gasmask Ammo
05. Celebrating Gamma Bliss
06. Riders On The Mushroom Cloud
07. Expecting A Search
08. When Humans And Axes Collide
09. You Should Be Brutally Slaughtered
10. Upon The Bonethrone
11. Reveler In Rot
12. Ionizing Rapture Altering Tissue
13. Radiation Blessed

RATING: 7.5/10

And the Swedish death metal just keeps on coming in waves. It once again begs the question: what the hell is going on over there anyway? Speculation points to a covert government operation that has resulted in the releasing of an as yet unidentified chemical into the water that stimulates the little known death metal gene. Or maybe Sweden just loves its death metal. Whatever the case, on "Tank Gasmask Ammo", THOSE WHO BRING THE TORTURE have unleashed 13 tracks of gnarly death metal that leans heavily to the groovy and tuneful side.

Featuring members of RIBSPREADER, PAGANIZER, TAEDEAT and KNIFE IN CHRIST, this underground super group released a self-titled album in 2007, which I somehow missed, but will seek out in short order. "Tank Gasmask Ammo" is chock-full of grinding grooves and the kind of storm trooping fervor that results in a banging of the head over which the listener has no control. Rooted in old-school Swedish death, but with a semi-modern sheen and intelligible vocals, tracks like "Napalm God" and the punky death of "Mutant Slut" (which always makes me think of DARKTHRONE's "Graveyard Slut", even though the styles are different) are as bludgeoning as they are catchy. Several other cuts boast a kind of sinister swing, the refrain of "Upon the Bonethrone" a case in point and one that also features a kind of "Children of the Grave" riff stutter on the verse. Just as important, it is one of many examples of songwriting on "Tank Gasmask Ammo" that is addictively fun.

The sophomore effort from THOSE WHO BRING THE TORTURE defines the difference between death metal savagery that becomes indistinguishable halfway through the album and the kind that keeps listener attention for the entire duration because of varied song structures and memorable songwriting. Don't look for reinvention; just crank this sucker up and enjoy.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).