01. Let it Roll
02. Hypergeek
03. Triumph
04. Babysong
05. Vampolka
06. Vampira
07. Mental Tan
08. Gaia
09. Pixillate
10. Judgement
11. A Simple Lullaby
12. Sunset
13. Notes from Africa

RATING: 9/10

As much as I enjoy STRAPPING YOUNG LAD I always find myself enjoying THE DEVIN TOWNSEND BAND more. It is something about the way Canada's resident musical genius wraps beautiful melodies around layers of soulful wisp and intense emotion. Much like "Accelerated Evolution", "Synchestra" takes repeat listens to fully absorb. However, there is more of an immediacy with the new opus, a result of melodies that are bit more out front on many of the songs, whereas "Traveller" (a song I adore) from "Accelerated Evolution" seemed to stand out as the most accessible one of the bunch. Yet the album is still as progressive as they come. As Townsend readily admits, "Synchestra" stands in stark contrast to SYL's "Alien" (even more so than previous DTB efforts) for its uplifting and generally happy aura. At 65 minutes, there is much to digest on "Synchestra", but once you've made it past the first couple of spins it is easy to become swept away and stay for the entire ride again and again. On "Synchestra" especially, the effect of DTB's grand compositions is one that blocks outside stimuli from entering your psyche; it is THAT moving.

Beginning on a serene note, "Let it Roll" is a wonderful acoustic piece with an Irish folk element and smooth keyboard background. Townsend's vocals on the song are the epitome of heartfelt. When the drums come in just after the two-minute mark, one senses the greatness to come. The acoustic picking that begins "Hypergeek" ultimately gives way to those familiar Devin sound explosions, this time with a hint of RUSH. The steady chug of "Triumph" (featuring a Steve Vai solo) begins the formal part of the trip, the seven-minute song building brilliantly; explosive and melodic, it is simply perfect. Then out of nowhere comes a banjo picking section (hey, it's Devin we're talking about here) before those soulful DTB waves begin crashing on the shore again. What a fantastic track.

The next three songs are album defining. "Babysong" swoons and sways, the tinkling of the ivories (an element more noticeable throughout) like flakes of snow falling upon the earth. Quirky and fun, visions of dancing circus monkeys flow out of the brief "Vampolka" before a chugging guitar leads into one of the album's best songs "Vampira". The track is gloriously nutty with great hooks and cascading keys combining to make the event a most memorable one. Moving through the remainder of the album, the music ebbs and flows from the chugging, hook-laden rocker "Gaia" to the eight-minute epic "Pixillate" to the mellower fare of "Judgement". A couple of minutes of experiencing the sounds of the rain forest on formal album closer "Notes from Africa" brings the adrenaline back down until a fantastic hidden track hits. The tune is purely boogie woogie rock and roll (done Devin style) that recalls something that CHEAP TRICK might have done. Though not included with my promotional copy, the album also includes a special edition bonus DVD called "The Devin Townsend Band Live", a 74-minute treat I'm sure. What more could you ask for?


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).