01. Concrete Walls
02. Face Off
03. Living a Lie
04. In Front of your Eyes
05. Unbreakable
06. Head of State
07. This is only the Beginning
08. Let Them Die Alone
09. Scars of Attitude
10. I Will Stand Stronger
11. The Legacy of Hate
12. Awaiting the Downfall

RATING: 6/10

We've heard a lot of this new school, hardcore-tough thrash metal these last several years and fortunately quite a few bands do it well. But progression is not a characteristic of the genre, which suits the bands and many fans of the style just fine. Separation from the pack however is difficult to achieve, a truth that has kept acts like HATESPHERE and UNHOLY moving, just not in a forward direction. Such is the case with Portugal's SWITCHTENSE who've just released their sophomore self-titled full-length.
There is no shortage of aggression on this sucker and even when the album dips into redundancy, a wrecked necked is still a good bet. Better than average, though not by much, SWITCHTENSE hit it hard and fast, usually similar to the approach taken by DEW-SCENTED, albeit without the same degree of songwriting skill. That DEW-SCENTED vocalist Leif Jensen contributes to "Legacy of Hate" is anything but a shock. SWITCHTENSE vocalist Hugo Andrade brings a convincing rasp-bark, but would do well to pay closer attention to Jensen who possesses a firmer command of inflectional-shift and pattern-tweak. Occasionally you'll hear some PANTERA ("Head of State") or STAMPIN' GROUND ("Scars of Attitude"), but mostly SWITCHTENSE splits the difference between HATESPHERE and DEW-SCENTED.

Although SWITCHTENSE suffers from an affliction similar to HATESPHERE in that both acts rarely get over the songwriting hump and leave an indelible mental mark, tracks like "Faceoff" and a few others show promise. SWITCHTENSE do leave numerous other marks, mostly those of the bruised and broken variety. The new full-length is hard as nails and presents no real barriers to an enjoyably violent listening experience. The main issue of note is that the new long player doesn't move SWITCHTENSE any closer to the pack leaders. Be that as it may, few would find reason to run for the "stop" button when this one is blasting at full volume.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).