"Sounds of Violence"


01. Into The Abyss (intro)
02. Born For War
03. The Sound Of Violence
04. Code Black
05. Rest In Pieces
06. Godhead
07. Hatebox
08. Antiheist
09. Suicideology
10. End Of The Storm (outro)
11. Bomber (MOTÖRHEAD cover)

RATING: 7.5/10

So you missed out on ONSLAUGHT's 2007's post-reunion release "Killing Peace" and are still wondering whether the reigniting of a flame that burned out in 1991 was worth it, eh? Take the opportunity to make that assessment with new album "Sounds of Violence". The odds are in favor of an answer in the affirmative. But hey, it's solid, muscle bound thrash that may fall well short of reinvention, but is long on headbang-worthiness and features a handful of tunes that'll you'll be shouting about at random, no matter the appropriateness of the setting in which you find yourself.

An obvious disdain for the control-basis of the institution called religion and a fascination with man's dead-end predilection for war go hand in hand with a big balls approach to thrash that finds company with the likes of SLAYER, SACRIFICE, and DEW-SCENTED. Something about that special kind of vicious UK thrash metal edge is apparent as well, on occasion somewhat reminiscent of what we heard on STAMPIN' GROUND's excellent 2003 banger "A New Darkness Upon Us". Really a vibe more than anything though, so don't get all comparison nuts about it. Lots of bloody knuckle brawling and the jackhammering of concrete going on here, as tunes like "Born for War", "Code Black", and the title track demonstrate. Jacob Hansen's perfect-fit production and vocalist Sy Keeler's beefed up rasp guarantees that the blades are sharp and used only for killing.

Several songs, such as "Hatebox" (dig that title) and "Rest in Pieces", fall squarely into the meat-and-potatoes-thrash category, while the clear standout and one likely to end up one of the thrash anthems of 2011 is "Godhead". SLAYER sized and with a chorus guaranteed to incite rioting in any gathering, it just plain rules. You'll appreciate a cover of MOTÖRHEAD's "Bomber" that features guest appearances by Phil Campbell and SODOM's Tom Angelripper as well. Not sure about its inclusion on any year-end lists, but "Sounds of Violence" is a no-brainer recommendation for fans of no-bullshit thrash.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).