(Frontiers Music Srl/Top Fuel Records)

01. I Know I'm Crazy
02. Ten Miles Wide
03. Shut Down Baby
04. Dead Roses
05. Lollipop
06. Hit Me with a Bullet
07. Rain
08. Want Too Much
09. What Do Ya Think
10. Jamie
11. I Can't Take It (album version)
12. Passion Infinity
13. Summers End

RATING: 7.5/10

Eighties legend RATT's members have been embroiled internally in seemingly endless legal battles that would make the most seasoned entertainment lawyer's head spin. Currently it seems that the unit's lineup includes vocalist Stephen Pearcy, guitarist Warren DeMartini, bassist Juan Croucier, as well as former QUIET RIOT guitarist Carlos Cavazo, who played on the group's last release: 2010's "Infestation".

Meanwhile, Pearcy is carrying on with his 2017 solo release: "Smash". The album offers up different creative paths than what may be expected of him based on his classic work with RATT. There are flirtations with alternative music on the opening track, beginning with sedated seventies-tinged synthesizers setting the tone before Pearcy's one-of-a-kind voice jumps in front and center. His delivery here is much more vulnerable than he is typically known for. "What Do Ya Think" plays with pseudo country music sensibilities, especially during the chorus during which Pearcy's voice suitably takes on an almost Southern twang, not forced but certainly apropos for the song.

But the backing instrumentation delves into more familiar rock-based territory on tracks like "Jamie". "Ten Miles Wide" revels in contemporary rock, allowing Pearcy to display his trademark banshee-like wailing and his melodic yet gritty snarl to surface. And a groovy, blues slide guitar lick guides "Shut Down Baby". Pearcy casually rattles off his lines with a high pitch that serves to remind listeners that his voice has not suffered with the passage of time, if there was any question. The blues 'n' glam strut of "Lollipop" suggests the classic RATT track "Way Cool Jr" and caters to the energetic, punchy vocal stylings he is known for.

"Smash" should satisfy longtime fans and serve as a suitable pacifier until RATT's next effort. It's an album worth revisiting and a testament to Pearcy's talent, resilience and enduring career.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).