Disc 1:
01. Mother Mary
02. When Daylight Goes to Town
03. Let it Roll
04. I'm A Loser
05. This Kids
06. The Wild One
07. Fighting Man
08. Only You Can Rock Me
09. Baby Blue
10. Mr. Freeze

Disc 2:
01. Love to Love
02. Too Hot to Handle
03. Lights Out
04. Rock Bottom
05. Doctor Doctor
06. Shoot Shoot

RATING: 7.5/10

Put out a landmark recording like 1978's "Strangers in the Night" — considered by many to be one of the greatest live rock albums of all time — and you can pretty well kiss goodbye any chance of ever matching it with a future live album. Fortunately, a revamped UFO lineup that features long-timers Phil Mogg (lead vocals), Pete Way (bass), and Paul Raymond (keyboards, rhythm guitars, vocals), and new guys Vinnie Moore (guitar) and Jason Bonham (drums, vocals; since replaced by returning Andy Parker) — both of whom played on the rock solid "You Are Here" album — are amazing musicians and songwriters. So the double-disc live set "Showtime" may not match the fiery intensity of "Strangers in the Night", but it is fine performance document that provides a nice overview of the band's career. SPV has also released the DVD version of "Showtime".

First, a little nitpicking. While there is not much to be concerned about here, especially for diehard fans, there are a few minor points of criticism that should be pointed out, namely the sound mix and the backing vocals. The mix is by no means bad. I just thought the rhythm guitar parts came off a little flat and Way's bass is a bit muffled (like I said, these are "minor" issues). The performance is of course very tight (and Moore is absolutely amazing), even if the same sense of live excitement one experienced with "Strangers in the Night" is not present here. For example, "Lights Out" (one of my favorite UFO songs) doesn't have the same sense of urgency, particularly during the chorus. Finally, the backing vocals come off awkwardly in a few spots (i.e. "Too Hot Too Handle" and "Baby Blue"). Are these reasons to avoid purchasing "Showtime"? Hell no! Chalk it up to a picky fan.

Recorded on May 13, 2005 in Wilhelmshaven, Germany, the album's mix of old and new material works surprisingly well. You won't blink an eye listening to show-opening classic "Mother Mary" from 1975's "Force It" followed by "When Daylight Goes to Town" from 2004's "You Are Here". Newer tracks like "The Wild One", "Fighting Man", "Mr. Freeze", and "Baby Blue" also match up well with vintage fare like "Let it Roll", "Only You Can Rock Me", and "Doctor Doctor", a testament to the band's first rate songwriting ability.

Mogg's vocals are as distinctive and alluring as ever, his sense of melody and patterning second to none. I will admit that it took me a while to get used to Vinnie Moore's playing on "You Are Here", especially after enjoying Michael Schenker's work on "Sharks", but the fresh, yet fitting, approach he brings to the band is especially evident on "Showtime". Moore is the star attraction on the 15-minute rendition of "Rock Bottom", a very well-done extended version.

As far as I'm concerned, the album highlight is unequivocally "Love to Love". It is such an amazing song that the band would have to purposely try to screw it up and then MAYBE it wouldn't come off so well. The melancholy beauty of it is captivating, and it is far and away Mogg's most convincing performance on the album.

I still run into people that are either unfamiliar with UFO or never heard any of the music, which probably has more to do with a popularity in the States that faded much more quickly compared to Europe. If you are one of these people, then I implore you to introduce yourself to the band's music. Picking up both the CD and DVD versions of "Showtime" wouldn't be a bad place to start.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).