"Shovel Headed Kill Machine"

(Nuclear Blast)

01. Raze
02. Deathamphetamine
03. Karma's Messenger
04. Shudder to Think
05. I Am Abomination
06. Altered Boy
07. Going Going Gone
08. Now Thy Death Day Come
09. 44 Magnum Opus
10. Shovel Headed Kill Machine

RATING: 8.5/10

Talk about not missing a beat! Three-fifths of the band turn over, Gary Holt lets out a chuckle, and then proceeds to rip off heads and shit down throats with "Shovel Headed Kill Machine". The big question in my mind was how the EXODUS sound would change with the departure of Steve "Zetro" Souza. I dig Zetro too, but I shit you not when I say that it'll take about two seconds of listening to Rob Dukes' throat rage before you forget about Souza. The guy fits like a glove. His vocal style is a little deeper, but he spews forth all the piss and vinegar of Zetro. I will assume you weren't worried about Paul Bostaph (ex-SLAYER, TESTAMENT) and Lee Altus (HEATHEN) stepping into the drum and second guitar slots, respectively. If anything, "Shovel Headed Kill Machine" is a nastier piece of thrash metal than its highly acclaimed predecessor, "Tempo of the Damned".

It starts and ends with those piercing licks and ear-splitting solos that hurt so damn good. Andy Sneap has the EXODUS sound down cold. Just as they did on "Tempo of the Damned", Gary and the boys ride those grinding riffs for all they're worth, often expanding song lengths well beyond what one would expect after the last chorus. EXODUS simply wants to make sure you choke on every last note. Album opener "Raze" is currently my personal favorite, based in large part on a ripping (and hooky) chorus. As it pertains to "Shovel Headed Kill Machine" though, there is no such thing as a standout, as the term implies a series of lesser songs as well. On this album, every tune counts. "Deathamphetamine", "Karma's Messenger", and "I Am Abomination" are razor-blade riff storms with vitriolic lyrics that make the blood boil and the face redden. Then again, that would describe pretty much every second of music on the disc. "Altered Boy" features some extra venomous ranting about pedophilia and the Catholic Church. "44 Magnum Opus" has the potential to force into action those contemplating an office shooting spree, while the album-closing speed demon that is the title track will soon be an EXODUS classic.

It doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure out what is going on here. "Shovel Headed Kill Machine" is about crushing the weak and, if necessary, burying them alive. Bottom line? EXODUS couldn't have produced a better follow-up to "Tempo of the Damned".


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).