01. Kirisute Gomen
02. Torn Between Scylla And Charybdis
03. Down From The Sky
04. Into The Mouth Of Hell We March
05. Throes Of Perdition
06. Insurrection
07. The Calamity
08. He Who Spawned The Furies
09. Of Prometheus And The Crucifix
10. Like Callisto To A Star In Heaven
11. Shogun

RATING: 7/10

Far be it from me to defend the likes of a band who has achieved such a high level of success by doing little more than filtering the highlights of METALLICA's career into a watered-down glass of Kool-Aid for the metalcore kids to slurp down like they were rockin' it in Jonestown. On top of that, over the last year or so my interest in TRIVIUM has stopped and started with the mildly hilarious lyrical interpretation videos that have made their way across the Internet. However, 2008 is one year that will go down as being marked with changes throughout the world and TRIVIUM has caught that fever and released an album that deserves to be taken seriously.

No, "Shogun" isn't a metallic masterpiece that is going to send the contingency of TRIVIUM haters to their knees begging for forgiveness, but it sure in the hell is a huge step up from "The Crusade". One of their most aggressive tunes to date, "Kirisute Gomen", makes for one bold opener with its minor-key melody that bursts into fist-in-the-air, thrash-o-rama. Interspersing his Hetfield-ian barks with forceful screams and surprisingly fitting melodic passages, Matt Heafy has proven himself a front man to be reckoned with. At the very least, his performance is telling of the lessons learned from touring with the likes of Robb Flynn (MACHINE HEAD) and Burton C. Bell (FEAR FACTORY). Complete dissection of "Shogun", even by the most biased set of ears, will unearth more hits than misses when coming across the shred-happy beast of a track, "Torn Between Scylla And Charybdis". Despite the predominance of "core-ish" riffing on "Into The Mouth Of Hell We March" and the anthem-like "Like Callisto To A Star In Heaven", these are far from one-trick ponies with the amount of both melodic and metallic elements tastefully crammed into the arrangements. Throughout this disc, I sense an air of confidence from TRIVIUM that has been lacking from previous efforts. This could come from the aftershocks of the destructive "Insurrection", the flirting with Euro-power that they've done with "The Calamity", the multi-faceted, twelve-minute title track or the cutthroat dueling between Heafy and Cory Beaulieu. Whatever it is, the effects are well-received.

As well-written and far-removed from the TRIVIUM norm as "Shogun" is, keep in mind that this album is less an evolution and more a (pretty damn big) step in the right direction. A number of the criticisms that have been hurled at the band can still be found on the disc, they're just not as prevalent or obvious. For the die-hards, this is your Shangri-la. For the rest of you, "Shogun" is at least a good excuse the bust out that TRIVIUM shirt you've kept hidden in the back of your closet for the last two years.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).