"Seizures in Barren Praise"


01. Day Nineteen: Fucking Viva
02. Day Twenty Eight: Targets
03. Day Twenty Six: Angles Anonymous in Transit
04. Day Twenty Nine: Reincarnation of Lost Lones
05. Day Twenty Five: Guignol Serene
06. Day Twenty: Flesh and Below
07. Day Twenty Four: Gutterbomb Heaven on the Grid
08. Day Twenty Three: Invertopia / Day Thirty: Class Warmth
09. Day Twenty One: Roam / Day Twenty Two: Absent Civilians
10. Day Thirty One: Mission Convincers

RATING: 7.5/10

With three releases in 2007 and the new 25-minute full-length, "Seizures in Barren Praise", this year, TRAP THEM is clearly a band overflowing with creative juices. The sound is still proudly based in the Sunlight sound and style of seminal Swedish death metal acts like ENTOMBED and DISMEMBER, the sonic atrocity of those bands masterfully captured again by producer Kurt Ballou. "Seizures in Barren Praise" is an album that sees TRAP THEM "refine" their sound further into one that is heavily impacted by the band's influences, just not to the extent that any semblance of personality is lost.

The grindcore heard on debut album "Sleepwell Deconstructor" has been toned down considerably, making way for the more pronounced — though secondary to the death metal style — crusty D-beat punk of old. The approach is decidedly pile driving, regardless of whether the pace is up-tempo and calamitous or slowed to a churn. In either case, Brian Izzi's riffs ooze and slam, as McKenney foams at the mouth like a rabid dog. A few cases in point follow. "Day Twenty-Five: Guignol Serene" is a rollicking rip-snort with craggy leads, jumping groove, and the locomotive power of bassist Steve Lacour and drummer Mike Justian (the sound he gets from his kit is massive). The slower cuts provide a fine contrast without sucking out the dirtiness and oomph. "Day Twenty-Four: Gutterbomb Heaven on the Grid" is a bass-propelled mid-paced bucket of filth with McKenney's vocals leading the charge, while "Day Thirty-One: Mission Convincers" is seven minutes of ominous flow, molasses groove, and sludgy riffs". Cleanliness is just not a priority for these fellows.

Those that have been following TRAP THEM during the their thus far short, yet prolific, career will note the continued lyrical themes explored by vocalist Ryan McKenney about fictional town "Barren Praise". It is a unique lyrical take featuring McKenney's exploration of the daily struggles faced by those living lives of quiet desperation, as told through the vocalist's poetic method. For a label known for hardcore, Deathwish has on its roster one of the better American deliverers of the classic Swedish death metal sound. "Seizures in Barren Praise" is another gripping chapter in the book of TRAP THEM.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).