"Rom 5:12"


01. The Levelling Dust
02. Cold Mouth Prayer
03. Imago Mortis
04. Through The Belly Of Damnation
05. 1651
06. Limbs Of Worship
07. Accuser / Opposer
08. Vanity Of Vanities
09. Womb Of Perishableness
10. Voices From Avignon

RATING: 8.5/10

Do not be too quick to assume what you're going to get with MARDUK's new album. By that I mean that it is not a one-trick pony, tempo changes and the compositional nuance heard on the past few albums notwithstanding. In fact, "Rom 5:12" is one hell of a varied and ferocious black metal album, one that holds tight to all the blasphemous fury that you've come to expect from the Swedes, but one that also offers the listener a fair amount of depth in song construction.

Even the classic MARDUK blasters bring a generous helping of songwriting prowess, relatively speaking of course. "Cold Mouth Prayer", which features guest vocals from former MARDUK member Joakim Göthberg, is as fast and furious as it is memorable. It is one of the album's strongest tracks. "Through the Belly of Damnation", "Limbs of Worship", "Vanity of Vanities", and "Voices from Avignon" rip with a vengeance, coming off like a band that's as hungry as ever. The mid-tempo "The Levelling Dust" is a nasty opener as well. Mortuus' acidic vocals throughout the album are just plain vile, his performance here arguably his best yet.

The pace slows considerably when "Imago Mortus" hits. A basic drumbeat leads a song that slithers along the ground, ultimately fading into a spooky and distorted section of church organ. The dark and classically influenced atmospheric keyboards and war march cadence of "1651" chill to the bone, while a fat, stop-stop riff and the ominous bass line breaks of "Womb of Perishableness" combine for another of the album's slow crushers. Finally, Latin chants and the clean vocals of PRIMORDIAL's Alan Averill are heard on atmospheric plodder "Accuser/Opposer", easily an album highlight.

"Rom 5:12" is a welcome addition to MARDUK's legendary catalog, proving once and for all that the kings have yet to relinquish their throne. The band has certainly made one of the better albums of its career here, one that is in the running for my year-end Top 10 list.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).