"Rocket Ride"

(Nuclear Blast)

01. Sacrifice
02. Rocket Ride
03. Wasted Time
04. Matrix
05. Return to the Tribe
06. The Asylum
07. Save Me
08. Catch of the Century
09. Out of Vogue
10. Superheroes
11. Trinidad
12. Fucking With Fire

RATING: 7.5/10

Let's get one thing out of the way now — calling these guys EDGAY is neither funny nor clever, and anyone who does it in the comments field owes me a beer of my choice. I know, you know, and they know that "EDGUY" is the stupidest band name since DUMPY'S RUSTY NUTS. But seriously — behave, jackasses.

Actually, given these guys' propensity for cornball humor and hideous album covers (see above), it's hard not to form an opinion of them before hearing a note of their music. Thankfully, "Rocket Ride" is a much more enjoyable affair than one might think, although the band's swaggering, unrepentant mix of AOR and power metal is about as unfashionable as it gets. EDGUY basically distill a Who's Who of Eurometal influences past and present, from HELLOWEEN to PRETTY MAIDS to EUROPE, and add both a quirky sense of humor and an unswerving sense of what makes a song memorable.

From the surprisingly heavy opener, "Sacrifice", to power metal exercise "Rocket Ride", to obligatory ballad "Save Me", EDGUY deliver strength and consistency, and make it look easy. It's easy to miss the level of quality here simply because the band is so good at what they do — they push all the right buttons, and while the whole thing may be formulaic, they pull influence from enough styles to make the record satisfying anyway.

Put simply, EDGUY are not innovators, but they're top-notch artisans, and on "Rocket Ride" they deliver a damn good time. It's an enjoyable, satisfying album for anyone into the lighter side of power metal, or for those seeking a meatier, more substantive take on the AOR/hard rock sound. Whether you find their dorkbrained sense of humor hilarious or irritating, there's no denying that EDGUY deliver the goods.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).