"Rise to Dominate"

(Metal Blade)

01. Helel Ben-Shachar
02. Spreading Their Disease
03. Living Sin
04. Hate Them
05. You Pray To Nothing
06. Caressed By The Holy Man
07. House Of Greed
08. Godless
09. When The War Comes
10. There Will Be No Heaven For Me
11. Luke 4-5-7
12. No One Escapes Us

RATING: 8.5/10

Every once in a while you put in a CD and moments later your jaw has dropped to the floor and you find yourself uttering things like, "Jesus Christ!" There is something about the disruptive shock to the system that the heavy-as-fuck blast of pure American-style death metal on "Rise to Dominate" from Sweden's AEON delivers that is so damn devastating. A fantastic production/engineering job from the band, Marcus Edvardsson, and Joakim Staaf (mixing/mastering by Dan Swano), memorable songwriting, and a technical/brutal musical assault makes "Rise to Dominate" a monster of a death metal album.

CANNIBAL CORPSE's Alex Webster is quoted as saying "It's rare to find a death metal band that is simultaneously crushingly brutal and infectiously catchy. AEON is one of those rare bands". One needs only to spin "Rise to Dominate" to realize that Webster is spot on in his assessment. A fierce cyclone of riffs from Zeb Nilsson (lead/rhythm) and Daniel Dlimi (rhythm) and a stunning rhythmic explosion from drummer Nils Fjellstrom are but two parts of an all-encompassing attack. The sickening crunch and just the right amount of technicality in the guitars reminds of CANNIBAL CORPSE's later efforts. Vocalist Tommy Dahlstrom comes with a classic death growl that is intelligible and right up there with folks like David Vincent and, to some degree, George "Corpsegrinder" Fisher. While there is a good deal of up-tempo material, songs like "You Pray to Nothing" ride a steady tempo, the song reminding one of MORBID ANGEL's "Where the Slime Live", both from the standpoint of the march-like pace and memorable chorus. "Rise to Dominate" slays from beginning to end. No question about it.

"Rise to Dominate" is yet another in a long line of quality death metal releases this year. No trails are blazed, but the craftsmanship is stellar and the experience damaging to the ears and the nervous system. Highly recommended for any fan of the good stuff. One word review: Wow!


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).