01. Resurrection
02. Pleasure in Pain
03. Worthless
04. Six
05. No Reason to Live
06. Killing the Beast
07. The Flame
08. End it All
09. Black Heart
10. Needle
11. Empire

RATING: 9/10

CHIMAIRA is a rejuvenated band and they are about to release what is sure to stand as one of the best metal albums of 2007, "Resurrection". Though I have always appreciated the quintet's music, particularly the work subsequent to 2001's "Pass out of Existence", I found myself shocked at the excellence achieved on "Resurrection". When the situation with Roadrunner seemingly began to sour and the band released 2005's defiantly heavy and decidedly less accessible self-titled album, one wondered where the band would go next. The answer is in a far more confident direction that combines the best elements of all previous albums and that finds CHIMAIRA pinpointing its true identity, that of an immensely talented, fire-breathing metal band on "Resurrection".

"Resurrection" is a complete album in every sense of the word. Unrelentingly ferocious, infinity memorable, and defined by remarkably accomplished arrangements. The album-opening title track is an immediate classic with its thrash-based riffing, catchy chorus, and a vocalist in Mark Hunter that sounds as though he is exorcising a lifetime's worth of demons. "Pleasure in Pain" and "Worthless" continue in a frighteningly heavy and rage-driven vein, the former incorporating effective clean (not crooning) harmonies on the pre-chorus, the latter boasting one of the album's most intense solos. It is on "Six" though that the group truly shines. The nine-and-a-half minute cut perfectly balances thrashing brutality and soul-baring lyrical hatefulness with an air of beauty, compositional majesty, and seamless tempo variation. It is also one of several tracks, along with the symphonic-laced "Empire", that shows keyboardist/sampler Chris Spicuzza taking a more active, though in no way disruptive, role.

Andols Herrick's return to the drum stool does nothing to detract from the band's resurgence either, even following the mighty Kevin Talley's efforts on the self-titled album. His double-bass work on songs like "The Flame", one that recalls FEAR FACTORY for the syncopation, is earth shaking. As for the rest, it is a matter of take-your-pick, as momentum is never lost and quality remains consistent, whether on catchy thrasher "Black Heart" or the spine-tingling "Killing the Beast".

That each nearly flawless track warrants discussion speaks volumes about the fact that the band has created its watershed album. "Resurrection" is one of those rare discs that beg the listener to return for repeat spins over and over again. It leaves me wondering if a rating of 9 is even high enough.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).