"Relentless, Reckless Forever"


01. Not My Funeral
02. Shovel Knockout
03. Roundtrip to Hell and Back
04. Pussyfoot Miss Suicide
05. Relentless Reckless Forever
06. Ugly
07. Cry of the Nihilist
08. Was It Worth It?
09. Northpole Throwdown

RATING: 7/10

The last several years has seen my interest in Finland's biggest musical export dwindle significantly. The band still killed it live, but "Are You Dead Yet?" and "Blooddrunk" never really struck me as anything special. Both were decent albums in their own right, but lacked the passion and fire that permeated from their early releases. I'm not even going to dignify the cover album with a comment. Strike it up to complacency in the wake of commercial success if you like, but I had really grown bored with CHILDREN OF BODOM.

It's quite possible that the band felt the same way as "Relentless, Reckless Forever" delivers some seriously fueled moments. While not as shred-laden as many COB might have been hoping for, "Relentless, Reckless Forever" still offers plenty of excuses to throw your fist in the air and bang away with reckless abandon. The disc's first and hardest-hitting track, "Not My Funeral", provides hope that the band who slaughtered us all with a tune like "Needled 24/7" was back. Vicious hooks, energized and melodic riffing and Alexi Laiho soloing his vodka-swilling ass off. My initial thought was that we had something stellar on our hands. "Shovel Knockout" brought more of the same fury with a heavy dose of proggy keyboards tossed in for good measure. "Roundtrip To Hell and Back" slows the pace down a bit, allowing the keys dictate the mood while the guitars spend much of the time resting comfortably in a tempered thrash groove. It's right about the time when the ridiculously titled "Pussyfoot Miss Suicide" rolls around that the fire beings to die out a bit. The quality of the songs doesn't really decrease, but the inspiration behind them certainly does as said tune, the title track and "Cry Of The Nihilist" all struck me as paint-by-the-numbers heavy rock disguised as melodic thrash. All three struck me as solid tunes that leave no real lasting impression. Thankfully "Ugly" rips a hole through the album's midsection a razor-edged flurry of speedy guitars, double bass and venomous vocals. After so many hit-and-miss, it was nice to have the album close out with a pair of ear-pleasers. "Was It Worth It?" certainly was given some of the alternatives this album has to offer and "Northpole Throwdown" (a topical ode to global warming or theme song to Santa's WWE debut? You be the judge.) is every bit the flamethrower that the first track was.

Far from their best effort ever, "Relentless, Reckless Forever" is undoubtedly the best CHILDREN OF BODOM have given us in quite some time. I highly doubt this will ever be ranked up there with "Hatebreeder" or "Hate Crew Deathroll", but it a huge step in that direction and one that they've needed to take for awhile now.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).