"Recordings 89-91"


01. Mourning
02. Slumber
03. Zombiefication
04. The Awakening Of…
05. Further Beyond
06. Snake
07. Physical Excursion / Truth And Beauty
08. Brutality
09. The Awakening Of…
10. Watch the River Flow
11. In Fell Tongues
12. Mourning (Live)
13. Slumber
14. Zombiefication
15. The Awakening Of…

RATING: 8/10

If you have read Daniel Ekeroth's outstanding book "Swedish Death Metal", then you know that NIRVANA 2002 was given high praise by the author as one of the very first bands — along with the likes of NIHILIST — that dove head first into the creation of the now renowned sound. That high praise is anything but mere hyperbole fueled by a combination of nostalgia and bias toward Ekeroth's countrymen. NIRVANA 2002 — you can probably figure out why the "2002" was added — was the real deal, but unfortunately never made it past the demo stage. Fortunately for you, oh lover of all things Swedish and deadly, Relapse has packed damn never everything ever set to tape by the band on "Recordings 89-91".

The prize of this treasure chest of Sunlight-style buzz bombs, captured during a time when the essence of raw punk bled into death the Swedish way, is the "Disembodied Spirits" demo, captured here as a 2009 remix, which is surprisingly good. The original mixes of "Slumber", "Zombiefication", and "The Awakening of…" are included as bonus tracks, both mixes containing AUTOPSY and MASTER influences, as pointed out by Tomas Lindberg (AT THE GATES, GROTESQUE, SKITSYSTEM, DISFEAR, etc.) in the extensive liner notes, which also include a detailed history from NIRVANA 2002 vocalist/guitarist (and assembler of this compilation) Orvar Säfström. Then again, "Further Beyond" and "Snake" from "Promo 91" aren't exactly a disappointment. Even the rehearsal recordings included are entertaining, despite the expected lo-fi recordings, and drip with the energy of a trio of youngsters determined to make their brand of metal as ugly and evil as possible. The live recording of "Mourning" from a 2007 reunion gig at Kafé 44 is a blitzkrieg of rumble 'n buzz as well.

"Recordings 89-91" is well worth the purchase price for not only fans of the style, but also those interested in delving deeper into the history of Swedish death metal, which is helped immensely by the commentary in the aforementioned liner notes. A very well put together package.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).