01. In Excelsis
02. Nova Era
03. Millennium Sun
04. Acid Rain
05. Heroes of Sand
06. Unholy Wars
  Part I - Imperial Crown
  Part II - The Forgiven Return
07. Rebirth
08. Judgement Day
09. Running Alone
10. Visions Prelude

RATING: 8.5/10

As one of the people that were ready to dismiss ANGRA following the departure of vocalist Andre Matos (who, along with ANGRA's rhythm section, left the group to form SHAMAN), I was more than a little surprised by the quality of the Brazilian quintet's long-awaited comeback release. A more mature, focused effort than 1998's Fireworks, Rebirth's biggest surprise comes in the shape of new vocalist Eduardo Falaschi (ex-SYMBOLS), who possesses a richer, more powerful set of vocal cords than his predecessor yet never fails to live up to Matos' legacy, thanks to a singing style that is as powerful as it is melodic, all the while perfectly complementing the band's excellent songwriting efforts.


As before, ANGRA's sound is derived almost directly from the neo-classical metal approach pioneered by HELLOWEEN on their Keeper Of The Seven Keys Pt. I opus, and tracks like the opener “Nova Era” and “Millennium Sun” are certain to please all fans of the latter group's earlier releases, particularly as ANGRA's current sound is now thankfully devoid of Matos' annoyingly high-pitched contributions that quickly grew tiresome on the band's previous recordings.


As impressive as Falaschi's vocal efforts are, the strength of the material is ultimately what has helped shape Rebirth into the best ANGRA album to date and one of this year's most pleasant surprises. Ranging in style from the HELLOWEEN-like sounds of the aforementioned opener to the ambitiously deliberate complexity of “Unholy Wars”, the songs on Rebirth consistently ooze with class and conviction, and they are certain to silence all of the group's critics who had doubts about ANGRA's ability to re-emerge after what seemed like an insurmountable setback.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).