"Phanerozoic I: Palaeozoic"

(Metal Blade)

01. The Cambrian Explosion
02. Cambrian II: Eternal Recurrence
03. Ordovicium: The Glaciation of Gondwana
04. Silurian: Age of Sea Scorpions
05. Devonian: Nascent
06. The Carboniferous Rainforest Collapse
07. Permian: The Great Dying

RATING: 8.5/10

It's been five years since THE OCEAN's last LP, and three since the group appeared on the "Transcendental" split EP with MONO. Brainiac post-metalheads rejoice, for THE OCEAN COLLECTIVE (best known simply as THE OCEAN) is back, releasing the first of a proposed two-album project, "Phanerozoic", intended to drop conceptually between 2007's "Precambrian" and 2010's "Heliocentric/Anthropocentric".

With ISIS laid down and the long wait for new PELICAN material, THE OCEAN—alongside NEUROSIS, LONG DISTANCE CALLING and ROSETTA—serves to give starving drone-sludge academics their fix. Chronologically superseding the Precambrian age, the mass extinction eon, Phanerozoic, is also believed to be one of the Earth's most significant ecological diffusion periods. If you've been following Robin Staps and THE OCEAN's tomes of didactic metal, then you can safely assume the first installment of "Phanerozoic", "Palaeozoic", posits mankind as a propagating factor to global devastation and nature's harsh responsive reconstruction.

As THE OCEAN COLLECTIVE, Staps's ever-changing roster is bound to lumbering through a certain mid-tempo slog from album-to-album. For this one, Staps invited his lighting designer, Peter Voigtmann, to contribute to the instrumentation while integrating new drummer Paul Seidel and bassist Mattias Hägerstrand. The album's biggest highlight, however, is a guest appearance by KATATONIA's Jonas Renkse on "Devonian: Nascent".

What "Palaeozoic" may lack in rhythm dynamics is well compensated for by a sophisticated compression of the album's constant grimness, flowered with restful keys, echoing guitar patters, horns and cello. All brought into progressive, if often blaring bliss, particularly on "Silurian: Age of Scorpions" and "Devonian: Nascent". Jonas Renkse is a classy voice of conscience to offset Loïc Rossetti's prolonged hollering. Rossetti's mastery of hard-clean swaps, however, gives "Palaeozoic" added refinement.

Reflecting the garish permafrost of a reputed 95% extinction event, the haunted eulogy "Permian: The Great Dying" closes the first section of "Phanerozoic", leaving in its glacial wake questions about our planet's changing bionetwork. Are we bound for a real-life "Day After Tomorrow" cataclysm, prompting continental shift and population readjustment? Or is our pervading fear of global warming the Earth's future fate? As heavy a prospect to consume as the album itself.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).