"Paint the Town"

(1x1 Music)

01. Failed Transmission
02. Cowboys Don't Look Back
03. Burning Bridges is so 1999...
04. Regret
05. Ghosts
06. Welcome Home Tragedy
07. Thank God for Painkillers
08. Eight Dollar Prom Dress
09. Farewell
10. My Life as a Typo
11. Cardia (bonus)
12. Soldiers (bonus)

RATING: 6/10

Originally released on Lovelost Records in 2004, "Paint the Town" by Philadelphia's ONE DEAD THREE WOUNDED sees a re-release on 1x1 Records with two new bonus tracks. Why re-release it so soon? Apparently, the band wasn't pleased with the debut album's level of distribution and according to vocalist Tim Zahodski, "we really wanted this record to be heard". Fair enough. But what you really want to know is whether "Paint the Town" is — to borrow a phrase from LOU REED — worth much more than infected yeast. Sure it is. The music is basically solid, if very familiar, metalcore that works best when the band mixes in its semi-sludgy southern groove parts.

With a concrete-tough sound mix that gives a jagged edge to the riffing and a thunderous drum attack, songs like "Cowboys Don't Look Back" and "Ghosts" and are two of the better of examples of how well the boys incorporate the aforementioned bloody-knuckle grooves. The Swedish influence is heard as well (big surprise, right?), which is at times reminiscent of DARKEST HOUR. The Swedecore stylistic bits are evident on songs like "Burning Bridges is so 1999…" (including the album's most notable gang shouts), and even more so on "Thank God for Painkillers", "Eight Dollar Prom Dress" and "Farewell", the latter two featuring single and twin melodic leads. Moody instrumental "Welcome Home Tragedy" is nicely done as well. I actually prefer the songs from the original release to the two new ones ("Cardia" and "Soldiers"), although both work just fine.

So in the end, "Paint the Town" won't you have screaming from the rooftops. It is an album that works fairly well, but you've heard much of it before. That said, the attitudinal vibe and southern cooking bodes well for future releases. Find some MP3s and check it before you make a purchase decision.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).