(Nuclear Blast)

01. Outcast
02. I Choke
03. Ambush In the Night
04. I'm Against
05. We Rise
06. Red I
07. Who Can I Trust (Prayer)
08. Leave Me Alone
09. Fuel My Fire
10. I Confront My Enemy
11. Hell Is Here
12. Chamunda

RATING: 1/10

After a decade of releasing albums and numerous European tours, it's nothing short of amazing that the best EKTOMORF can come up with on their seventh release is such a ridiculous ripoff of the Max Cavalera school of simpler-is-better mono-thrash. It's not a passing resemblance, it's not an occasional inflection — it sounds like this Hungarian quartet went into the studio and said "how much can we possibly steal from SOULFLY, even if it means getting our asses kicked for it?"

I suppose it could be a case of parallel development — I mean, who's to say a "third world posse" couldn't erupt in Hungary just as easily as in Brazil? But let's go down the checklist – we have heavily-accented vocals delivered in a Cavalera bellow. We have thudding two-note riffs and big tribal beats with occasional Latin percussion flourishes. We have the obligatory acoustic-guitar spooky world music sounding ethinc bit ("Who Can I Trust"). We have lyrics about oppression, overcoming enemies, and the like, and song titles written in the same font SOULFLY stole off the side of an incense box years ago. I mean, check them out: "We Rise"? "I'm Against"? "Chamunda"? Give me a fucking break.

With even the genuine article, the SOULFLY discography, becoming a bit redundant and stale, and the looming prospect of a Cavalera reunion in SEPULTURA at some point soon, who needs such a blatant ripoff? Start a cover band if you're that far up your idols' asses, but don't peddle your thinly-veiled tribute as something original or worth anyone else's time. Better yet, put those ten years of life experience to use and try developing a personality, instead of wearing someone else's like a second skin.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).