"Out Loud"


01. Static
02. The Mirror
03. Teen
04. Miss You
05. Bow Link in E Minor
06. N.SS
07. Shut Up
08. Blah-Blah
09. Blind Date
10. Can't You Hear
11. At Ease
12. Yours Faithfully
13. Out of the Great Book of Fairytales

RATING: 6/10

"Out Loud" by Slovenia's NAIO SSAION seems to be Napalm Records' attempt to make a big splash in the modern rock/pop world. If you're looking for a review of an album representative of the label's more gothic-folk-metal catalogue, look elsewhere (the band's violin-driven folk slivers notwithstanding).

Led by the golden pipes of a talented woman known as only as Barbara, NAIO SSAION juxtaposes Rok's impressive violin playing with the band's mix of danceable pop melodies and often riff-driven grooves, whilst tossing in the occasional (and poorly done) rap and electronica sections. Songs like "The Mirror" boast chorus patterns that remind me of something ALANIS MORISSETTE or MEREDITH BROOKS might do (hey, gimme a break, it's all I could come up with, as I don't review this kind of thing very often). "N.SS" exemplifies a formulaic approach that involves light poppiness on the verse that builds to a heavier swagger on the chorus. Most of the tunes match muscular rhythms with radio-friendly melodies, the contrast of tough riff and driving rhythm with the featherweight, violin-soaked sections of "Blind Date" a good example. The electric and folk-ish "Blah-Blah" sports a nice groove and hook until a goofy Gwen Stefani rappy sequence hits. The rap cadences of "Shut Up" are just as bad. I found one of the most enjoyable tunes to be the only one without vocals, a two-minute-plus instrumental jam with fiery violin playing called "Bow Link in E Minor".

In the final analysis, "Out Loud" would seem to be an album that could have mass commercial appeal and offer something a bit different (violin) to help NAIO SSAION stand out from the crowd. Aside from a couple stinkers and a few mediocre tracks, the band does have something to offer the non-metal minded among us. Some of it might be considered pop drivel, but much of it is at lest decent pop drivel. Add a point to the rating if you believe that "Out Loud" is actually a phenomenal, cutting edge pop rock album and I just don't realize it.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).