"Our Days of Eulogy"


01. My Heart Bleeds No Longer (Live)
02. Fuel the Fire (Live)
03. Only the People (Live)
04. Internal War (Live)
05. One Step Away (Live)
06. Endless
07. Internal War
08. The Charm
09. My Desire
10. Shattered by the Sun
11. Call to Judgement
12. Convictions
13. Lefty

RATING: 6/10

Here is one for the newly converted UNEARTH fan interested in the band's work preceding "The Oncoming Storm". By picking up a copy of the 52-minute "Our Days of Eulogy" on or after November 15, he or she will get the previously out-of-print "Above the Fall of Man" EP, the "Endless" EP, and a collection of five live tracks recorded in 2004. Grab "The Stings of Conscience" full-length too and you will be the proud owner of UNEARTH's complete discography.

The album begins with a performance captured at The Downtown in Long Island, New York. No studio touch-ups here, this is pure UNEARTH intensity. Four of the five tracks are taken from "The Stings of Conscience", while "Internal War" is a track from "Endless". The sound mix could stand some improvement and Trevor Phipps' vocals strain to stay on track with the arrangements at times (though he always did have that desperate feel in his delivery), but it is a nice fan treat nonetheless. High and energy are two words that come immediately to mind.

The "Endless" EP will be more recognizable as UNEARTH to newer converts. Some will argue that it is preferable to the material on the band's 2004 breakout album. To me, it still sounds like a band searching for its definitive style, that being the breakdown-ridden Swedish-inspired metal of "The Oncoming Storm".

It is on the "Above the Fall of Man" EP where the delivery is most noticeably different. A rougher, noisier approach is evident. An uneven flow and a style that lacks a bit of confidence keep it from doing a whole lot for me. It is that hungry feel that will no doubt appeal to the diehards (and surely did for those who have been with the band since the beginning). The songwriting was just underdeveloped at this point.

In short, pick up "Our Days of Eulogy" if you already own "The Oncoming Storm" and "The Stings of Conscience". Those new to the UNEARTH game are advised to start with the 2004 release (one of my favorite albums that year).


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).