01. Mythomaniac
02. None Of Your Concern
03. Heart And Soul
04. Oblivion
05. Open Your Eyes
06. Rain
07. Suffering In Silence
08. Walls Of Secrets
09. Father Spirit
10. Bleed
11. Into The Cradle

RATING: 6/10

FULLFORCE, the name's got a powerful ring to it, wouldn't you say? It is what one might expect of an act full of veteran power/trad metal players, including vocalist Mike Andersson (CLOUDSCAPE, SILENT MEMORIAL, PLANET ALLIANCE), guitarist Stefan Elmgren (HAMMERFALL), drummer Anders Johansson (HAMMERFALL, YNGWIE MALMSTEEN), guitarist Carl-Johan Grimmark (NARNIA), and bassist Tommy Larsson (HEED). The music of debut, "One", however, does not quite match the expectations of power set by that forceful moniker. It is nonetheless a tasty album of glossy melodic metal and hard rock. Just know that you'll be hungry again an hour later.

Decent, enjoyable even, yes; but destined to end up one of 2011's most memorable melodic metal albums it is not. On more than a few occasions "One" sounds like FIREWIND's most melodic material, sans the guitar heroics and deep impact. The opening trio of cuts — "Mythomaniac" (the standout), "None of your Concern", and "Heart and Soul" — do make an impact, thanks to some pretty good chorus. Relatively speaking, "Rain" is a bit of toughie and also sports a quality refrain. You may also hear something along the lines of EDGUY-lite on "Open Your Eyes". On the ballad-esque "Father Spirit" one gets a vague feeling of EVERGREY during the keyboard-driven verses.

Whether due to a delivery from Andersson that could stand more oomph or a mix that could use more muscle, what "One" seems to be lacking most are knockout punches. Consider the difference between a firm nod of agreement and a triumphant fist thrust high into the air. There is nothing really negative here to report nor is there anything over which to gush. "One" is an enjoyable disc and aside from a few tunes that are no better than mediocre (e.g. "Bleed"), much of what you'll hear is several meters past average. The issue of most significance then is that "One" doesn't leave as much of a lasting impression as it should. Unless somebody brings it up in polite conversation at the next cocktail party you'll probably have forgotten all about it by year's end.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).