01. Taman Maailman Prinssi
02. Pirun Verta
03. Quetzalcoati
04. Kuolonkaarme
05. Vihani Raivoavina Valtamerina
06. Maailman Viimeinen Yo
07. Kuolemankulti
08. Tuhkaan Kirjoitettu
09. Kaikkinakevan Silman Alla

RATING: 9/10

Welcome to the first truly great black metal album of 2008. AZAGHAL's "Omega" is an exceedingly well written, well rounded, and utterly devastating album from the Finnish horde. Heck, if you can understand Finnish lyrics, you'll really be in for a treat!

Objectively speaking, I'd even put "Omega" a hair above the last two DODSFERD releases, "Fucking Your Creation" and "Cursing Your Will to Live", though on the whole I'll probably always retain a soft, albeit blackened, spot for the Greek terror. And that's a good starting point for discussion of "Omega". AZAGHAL delivers its most ferocious moments in a manner similar in some ways to that of DODSFERD, defined in large part by the scathing riffs and the nihilistic aura achieved through the hateful vocals. One can hear it in the album's thrashy/groovy moments, such as the changeup from furious blasting to the thrash segments on "Kuolemankultti" and "Kuolonkaarme", as well as the head-banging cadence of "Tuhkaan Kirjoitettu".

Where "Omega" really shines though is in the band's knack for writing the perfect pace shifts and arrangement changeups, no matter how brief, as well as the use of accent, and that includes the percussive coloration heard throughout the disc. Hitting just some of the highlights, "Quetzalcoatl" is a mid-tempo march of sorts with an Eastern-sounding lick, an effective keyboard break (the instrument is lightly used in several places and done so for maximum impact), and still leaves room for plenty of blasting. "Vihani Raivoavina Valtamerina" almost fools you with rather inviting, yet still sinister, opening segment that includes subtle keys before diving headfirst into carnage, then ultimately returning to the slower tempo with that — quite honestly — pleasant keyboard melody. Stepping back a bit from the track-by-track run down, it is easiest to explain that "Omega" centers on an up-tempo, skin flaying blitzkrieg, but deftly incorporates rousing rhythms, airy chords, atmospheric keys, BM guitar harmonizing that is nearly symphonic, and melody that somehow survives amidst the musical horror.

As I've stated in previous reviews over the years, much of the appeal black metal has to do with the feeling conveyed and the creation of atmosphere, elements that transcend mere song construction. What makes "Omega" such a stalwart release is that AZAGHAL hits the bull's eye on two levels: the harnessing of dread and the creation of memorable songs. This one's a keeper.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).