"Mechanical Spin Phenomena"

(Nuclear Blast)

01. Liquid
02. Blood Stained
03. Ghost
04. DB'XX'D
05. Tattoos
06. The Naked And The Dead
07. Closed Eyes
08. Mechanical Spin Phenomena
09. Zero Gravity

RATING: 9.5/10

Described liberally as "hybrid metal", or a disparate meshing of styles if you will, MNEMIC's debut effort reeks of stylistic, gritty appeal. This is a record that fully embraces every angle of aggressive music and, in an overpoweringly meticulous fashion, slots them all together seamlessly. There are moments here that bring FEAR FACTORY and their "Demanfacture" period to mind, such is the industrial influence that taints the tracks. Bolstered by acerbic riffs and strong, flirtatious melodies, "Mechanical Spin Phenomena" could never quite be accused of being a one-dimensional recording, even if the general theme is one of pure, dirty, bloody extremism.

MNEMIC's sonic attack is weighty, brutal and forthright — there are no punches pulled here. The fusion of their prestigious influences has built a selection of impressive, multi-layered songs, most of which take the better part of a few listens to fully assimilate. "Liquid" is representative of the melodic appeal of this band, snapping into the chorus from an astringent verse fuelled by arduous guitars. "Db'xx'd" fires an early burst of mechanical power, "Closed Eyes" drifts on a wave of distorts and melodic flight, and "Zero Gravity" tries a shot at provoking the patience, eventually fleshing out into an eight-minute piece of negatively charged music.

There is certainly a refreshing twist to MNEMIC's corrosive musical vision, even if the songs are difficult to distinguish from each other on the initial listen. With time, "Mechanical Spin Phenomena" does fully develop within the senses and flirts with its own identity. It's doubtful that anyone will be complaining about the stark intensity of this record, given the lack of strength in the mainstream market. MNEMIC pull together enough pliable styles and, to their every credit, flourish with an immensely strong debut effort.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).