"Live Live in Paris"

(Liquor and Poker)

01. L'Intro
02. Look At You
03. Earn the Crown
04. Payback
05. Heaven 2.9
06. Powderhead
07. A Song For the Outcast
08. The Clash
09. One Sound
10. Made Me Madman
11. U.F.O. Romeo
12. Year By Year
13. Highlights
14. Star War
15. Brand New Hate
16. Minus Celsius

RATING: 7.5/10

Is it finally time for the BACKYARD BABIES to conquer their last frontier? They've toured with AC/DC, SOCIAL DISTORTION and VELVET REVOLVER, and they pre-date THE HELLACOPTERS. They've collaborated in various side projects with everyone from members of ENTOMBED to MICHAEL friggin' MONROE. Yet here in the States, they make DANKO JONES look popular and well-publicized!

This scorching live set, recorded in Paris in 2004, makes a nice introduction to these Swedes and their sleazy, snotty rock and roll. Sort of a missing link between stoner rock, workingman's street punk and sleaze metal, BACKYARD BABIES would be at home in front of all three crowds, because after all, it's all just rock and roll. Catchy? Not in the pop-single sense — a lot of this smears together, especially live, into a big friendly punk rock mess. There's a lot of batshit crazy French people who don't care much, though, yelling along and demanding several encores.

As live recordings go, this one's got a great mix, nice and clear, and everyone redeems themselves fairly well on their instruments. The vocals are right up front, plenty of gritty harmonies and snarling attitude, ripe for singalongs at home. These guys have attitude to spare, oozing out of the speakers, but it never comes off as smug or contrived — they've been at it since 1991, so I'm willing to put money on them as the real deal. There's a refreshing lack of pretension here, too — this isn't rock and roll being played by twerps who were all emo or death metal two years ago. It's got rough-hewn gutter melodies, killer riffs, and enough energy to level a building — what more could you want?

There's nothing wrong with some well-done Swedish rock and roll, especially when it's done this well. Where do you go after this fine slab of live grit and grease? I don't know either, but I'm gonna make a point to find out.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).