"Live in Japan"

(MVD Audio/Metal Mind)

01. Damien (intro)
02. Sothis
03. Distant Dream
04. Black To The Blind
05. Silent Empire
06. Blood Of Kingu
07. Carnal
08. Red Passage
09. Panzerstoss (intro)
10. Reborn In Flames
11. Fractal Light
12. From Beyond (intro)
13. Crucified Ones
14. Foetus God
15. Black Sabbath
16. Reign In Blood
17. Omen (intro)
18. Dark Age

RATING: 8/10

I've often pondered, "Is it even possible for VADER to do wrong? Are the Polish death/thrash titans even capable of producing a poor product?" And the answer is always "no." Piotr Wiwczarek's (aka "Peter," vocals/guitar) assassins have been laying waste to stages across the globe for many years now, walking it like they talk it and serving as living examples of what it means to be dedicated to one's craft. Lest anyone doubt the band's ability to maintain its consistent level of musical excellence and untamed savagery, grab a copy of 2006's "Impressions in Blood" and kiss your ass goodbye. It is exactly that kind of fury and god-like presence that has been captured on "Live in Japan", a 62-minute performance recorded on August 31, 1998 at Club Quattro in Tokyo, Japan, the band's first appearance in the city.

The degree to which most fans give a shit about live albums often depends on four factors, or some combination thereof: (1) one's level of worship for the band in question; (2) whether the uninitiated believes the disc would serve as a good introduction to the act's body of work; (3) the sound quality; and (4) the magic captured at the show. Well, guess what? Any one of these factors would serve as justification for purchasing "Live in Japan". The sound mix is strong; it is professional (not to mention lethal), yet not a studio recording with pumped-in crowd noise. It would also serve to introduce newcomers to VADER's pre-"Litany" material. As for the "magic," the disc sends shivers down the spine and raises the hairs on the back of the neck, no question about it. As for fan worship, let's face it, most VADER fans are rabidly dedicated and not already in possession of the album would surely want to pick up the MVD Audio stateside release.

The song selection contains many of the favorites, including "Silent Empire", "Black to the Blind", "Carnal", and "Crucified Ones". But the real treats are monstrous covers of "Black Sabbath" and live staple "Raining Blood" (SLAYER). In the latter case, it would not be a VADER show without a cover of one of the fearsome foursome's greatest songs; the Poles have truly made it one of their own. It's also a pleasure to hear Doc's (R.I.P.) fierce drumming. If you've got enough energy left, the disc also includes a video clip for "Kingdom", although I've not been able to get it to play in my computer (hopefully a problem with my computer and not the disc). So does "Live in Japan" come highly recommended? Of course it does.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).