"Krush the Enemy"


01. Krush the Enemy
02. Unleashed
03. Self Will Run Riot
04. The Plague at Hand
05. Born with a Blackened Heart
06. Scorched Earth Policy
07. Guardian Angel
08. The Controller
09. Stalker
10. We Are the Vultures

RATING: 6.5/10

With a name like WARBEAST, an album called "Krush the Enemy" that was produced by Phil Anselmo (PANTERA, DOWN, SUPERJOINT RITUAL) and released on his label, and a membership that includes vocalist Bruce Corbitt (RIGOR MORTIS), guitarists Rick Perry and Scott Shelby (GAMMACIDE), bassist Alan Bovee (later incarnation of GAMMACIDE), and drummer Joe Gonzalez (DEMONSEED), you can bet your sweet ass that the band hasn't jumped on the deathcore band wagon or developed a kindler, gentler form of metal. On "Krush the Enemy" WARBEAST brings 10 tracks carrying 10 tons of thrash and pure American metal. An epic piece of songwriting it is not; it is however a no-frills karate-chop to the throat and a swift kick to the ass.

Not all that dissimilar to the approach taken by ANGER AS ART, "Krush the Enemy" comes off like a violent reactionary countermeasure to a legion of youngsters raised to think that metal can be prettied up, overproduced, and injected with crooning choruses, and still be called metal. Running the gauntlet of thrash burners and PANTERA-like face breakers like "The Plague at Hand" and the title track, as well as muscle-bound OVERKILL-esque stompers like "The Controller", one interpretation of the message conveyed could be summed up as follows: "Metal ain't supposed to be food for the well adjusted or the perpetually optimistic and nobody gives a shit about the tears and eyeliner that ran down your cheeks last night when your girlfriend broke up with you over Facebook." That message is received loud and clear on "Krush the Enemy".

Digging deeper, minor complaints can be lodged about songwriting that is moderately uneven at and that could stand a pinch less predictability. In most cases, the wild-eyed aggression and a whole lot of ass-whippin' riffage makes up for it. As indicated by the rating, it's not enough of an issue to make "Krush the Enemy" anything less than an above-average effort. Besides, as one might surmise from the undisputed attitude of the album, any invitations sent out through the music come in two parts: "go" and "fuck yourself."


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).