"Kill Devil Hill"


01. War Machine
02. Hangman
03. Voodoo Doll
04. Gates Of Hell
05. Rise From The Shadows
06. We're All Gonna Die
07. Time & Time Again
08. Old Man
09. Mysterious Ways
10. Up In Flames
11. Revenge

RATING: 7.5/10

Talk about raising expectations, eh? It comes with the territory when news is announced of an album made by a band that includes in its ranks drummer Vinny Appice (HEAVEN & HELL, BLACK SABBATH, DIO) and bassist Rex Brown (DOWN, PANTERA), as well as vocalist Jason "Dewey" Bragg (PISSING RAZORS) and guitarist Mark Zavon (RATT, W.A.S.P., 40 CYCLE HUM). The band is KILL DEVIL HILL, the album self-titled, and the music a pretty darn good brand of accessible hard rock and metal that most often brings to mind ALICE IN CHAINS, secondarily Ronnie James Dio-fronted BLACK SABBATH, and familiar flavors from some other "name" acts.

Would I buy it had I not gotten the promotional download? I would (and probably still will). That's because the self-titled KILL DEVIL HILL album is a mighty good from-to-back listen that includes several good songs and a handful that are no worse than above-average/solid. It's the ALICE IN CHAINS (AIC) vibe that will hit you most directly, which can be attributed in large part to Bragg's Layne Staley-isms. But more than just the dark tone and the manner in which Bragg sways and stretches notes is also the often slow-to-mid tempos and the lava-flow riffing from Zavon (who busts out some strong solos too), which in the latter cases can also bring to mind BLACK SABBATH and maybe even more so the riff/bass burn of HEAVEN & HELL's "The Devil I Know".

Yes sir, some tasty metal is served. Album-opener "War Machine" may be the best of the bunch and also one of the few up-tempo, tough groovers on the album. Tied for a close second are the AIC-ish "Hangman" and "Gates of Hell" (the latter nice 'n spooky), and "Voodoo Doll", which boasts a chorus pattern that is one part Ozzy and one part BLACK LABEL SOCIETY. But it is not as though those tracks are the undisputed winners either since the SABBATH-plodding "Rise from the Shadows", the crawling and very AIC "We're All Gonna Die" (with a chorus that keeps coming until you're hooked) and "Time & Time Again" are all keepers. The tempo is upped again on "Old Man" and "Revenge", both featuring attention-getting Zavon riffs, while the acoustic swamp-stroll of "Mysterious Ways" works as a decent change of pace, if little else, although the general vibe of the album remains. Though "Up in Flames" still comes with that slithering AIC thing it also departs just a bit into something that vaguely recalls AUDIOSLAVE, perhaps due to Bragg sounding like a more restrained Chris Cornell. Not exactly easy to find fault with any of that, is it?

That's because KILL DEVIL HILL is not an album that requires detailed analysis to appreciate. Its sole mission seems to be one based in listener appreciation for no-frills metal/rock that grooves and hooks with just enough grit to maintain street-cred with the perpetual naysayers. Mission accomplished.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).