01. Världsalltets Fanfar
02. Klippor Och Skär
03. Till Dånet Av Forsar Och Fall
04. Mörk Nebulosa
05. Stjärndyrkan
06. Skogen Sover
07. Vindögat
08. Palissader
09. Eld Och Lågor

RATING: 8/10

If you can get the chorus from "Världsalltets Fanfar" out of your head, then please communicate your methods, as it is yet another example of VINTERSORG's ability to infect with melody. It matters not if your native tongue is English, as the Swedish-sung lyrics do nothing to prevent the hooks from sinking in deep. Far from ending there, on new album "Jordpuls" VINTERSORG keeps the folk/prog metal hits coming with that same knack for the tuneful and skill at constructing its patented, folk-rooted genre blends.

Versatile vocalist (and multi-instrumentalist) Andreas "Vintersorg" Hedlund (BORKNAGAR) is at the top of his game on "Jordpuls". He weaves without seam his scintillating and inflectionally shifting cleans, black metal harshness, and growl punctuations through nine beautifully arranged tracks that are equally diverse. The moods move from folk serenity ("Eld Och Lågor") to black metal ferocity ("Mörk Nebulosa"), though linearity in style is a rarity here, as peaks and troughs, and ebbs and flows, are integral to the VINTERSORG approach. Folk may be the basis, but the music is rich in dynamics, as songs like the previously noted "Världsalltets Fanfar" can at once shock with aggression and awe with beauty. Tracks with a more eclectic bent, such as "Palissader", derive their charisma in large part from creative keyboard arrangements, whether through the painting of mental pictures showing nature's inherent pristineness or man's destructive proclivities. That "Jordpuls" can sound both modern and ancient attests to the creative power of VINTERSORG.

The key to any VINTERSORG album — and "Jordpuls" is not an exception — is to invest the time necessary to absorb the deep musicality and the philosophical ideas conveyed in the lyrics. It is in those repeat visits where the magic happens. As much as I've praised "Jordpuls" as a complete album, I still can't get that damn chorus from "Världsalltets Fanfar" to dislodge itself from the innards of my skull. Perhaps medical attention is the next best option. Then again, it is an affliction with which I can live in contentment.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).