"Into the Wild"


01. Nail On The Head
02. I Can See You
03. Into The Wild
04. Money Talk
05. Trail Of Diamonds
06. Lost
07. Believe
08. Southern Star
09. I'm Ready
10. T-bird Angel
11. Kiss Of Freedom

RATING: 9/10

Like a fine wine, URIAH HEEP is one of those 30-year veteran acts like NAZARETH and UFO (and are often British) that seem to get better with age, regardless of opinions about the "good old days" that are distorted by nostalgia for the "classics." The fact is that albums like 2008 comeback "Wake the Sleeper" are examples of rock done right – rooted in '70s classic rock, yet timeless for the impeccably written, melody-based compositions and stellar musicianship. And this year's "Into the Wild" is an even better album than "Wake the Sleeper", which is a statement of some significance.

What makes "Into the Wild" such a great album is of course great songwriting, but what defines it as a URIAH HEEP album — as is the case in one way or another on most of the act's releases — is the manner in which the guitars of Mick "I Never Met a Wah-Pedal I Didn't Like" Box, the keyboards of Phil Lanzon, and the rich vocal melodies of Bernie Shaw meet to make virtually every shine so bright and with such brilliant color schemes. Combine those qualities with an approach that is indisputable in its rock solidness and unforgettable in its tunefulness and you get "Into the Wild", one of 2011's best rock albums thus far. It is a status that the album will no doubt hold at year's end as well.

Above all else, "Into the Wild" rocks with a vengeance, a somber six-minute gem (and Lanzon thing of lush keyboard beauty) "Kiss of Freedom" one exception. Much of that has to do with Box and Lanzon who perform with the kind of fiery passion that makes one wonder whether a deal with the devil had been struck. A somewhat surprising opener called "Nail on the Head" struts and swaggers its way through a basic stop/start groove in a style almost more befitting UFO and ends up destined for standout status amidst URIAH HEEP's massive songbook. After the up-tempo boogie of "I Can See You", the strut returns on "Money Talk". Somewhat of a gear shift occurs on "Lost", set apart by a beefy, bass-driven gait that vaguely recalls "Perfect Strangers"-era DEEP PURPLE. "Southern Star" then will renew your faith in the power of the riff; that is, when you've stopped thinking about that fantastic, choral-enhanced refrain.

Speaking of choruses, URIAH HEEP's is afflicted with a distinct inability to write a bad one. More so than we've heard in years, "Into the Wild" is an album that permanently imprints its magnificent choruses on the brain. Shaw does more than just sing the words; he puts his mark on the melodies with boundless energy and emotional accent, while the backing vocals are hugely important to the bigness of the sound, another defining characteristic of the URIAH HEEP. You can pick pretty much any song and come away with a sense of awe and complete sensory satisfaction. You'll marvel at the strain of '60s/'70s pop purity (think GUESS WHO-esque) of "Trail of Diamonds", which detours for a ballsy bout of riffing around the 2:25 mark. And you'll swear you heard a pinch of vintage STYX during the chorus of "Believe" that more than makes up for its cliché lines with fundamental catchiness. Similar comments could be made of the rock steady, pop-based "T-Bird Angel". Topping it all off is the deeply impacting melody and driving rhythm of the title track.

Simply put, "Into the Wild" is an album that deserves worldwide recognition as the stuff of rock royalty. If you'd not thought about URIAH HEEP in years, then this is your big chance to dive back in to the deep end of the pool. If it is your choice to pass, then it is also your great loss. The rest of us will be more than happy to keep it all to ourselves.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).