(Nuclear Blast)

01. Exordium [Intro]
02. Vanish Away
03. Final Warning
04. That's Why I Despise You
05. The Fraud
06. Into The Arms Of Misery
07. Perdition For All
08. Now Or Never
09. Aftermath
10. Everything Undone
11. Contradictions
12. Retain The Scars
13. Exitus [Outro]

RATING: 7/10

You can almost always count on the Germans to create high value thrash and DEW-SCENTED are about as reliable as it gets. You can argue that the band essentially creates the same album over and over again (an exaggeration, yet not totally inaccurate), but if it ain't broke, don't fix it, right? "Incinerate" is no major departure from "Issue VI" and considering that "Issue VI" is a white-hot slab of thrash aggression, it becomes awfully difficult to complain about "Incinerate" following a similar path. The bottom line is that for those folks that want their thrash in your face, scalding to the touch, and full of unrelenting rage, DEW-SCENTED gets the job done admirably.

Aside from a couple of arrangement twists (occasional tempo change, vocal effect, etc), one of the primary differences between "Issue VI" and "Incinerate" is the band's enlistment of a new producer. Choosing not to go with Andy Classen, the quintet handed over the reins to Jörg Uken and Soundlodge Studios (GOD DETHRONED), while superstar Andy Sneap handled the mixing. The resulting sound is not a whole hell of a lot different than what was heard on "Issue VI", meaning that the guitars still sound white hot and the feeling one gets from listening to the disc is that face melting is a distinct possibility at high volumes. Between "Exordium (Intro)" and "Exitus (outro)" is a batch of songs that, once again, go straight for the jugular. Whether it is "Vanish Away" or "Final Warning" (two prime examples of the DEW-SCENTED style), it is a case of fast tempos, flesh-tearing riffs, searing leads, and the throat-bleeding screams of vocalist Leif Jensen. Most noteworthy are the appearances of Jeff Waters (ANNIHILATOR) and Gus G. (FIREWIND) on "Perdition for All", both contributing guitar solos. KREATOR's Mille Petrozza makes a guest vocal appearance on "Retain the Scars" and his interplay with Jensen is great. In fact, it is the album's most dynamic song from an arrangement standpoint, although we are still talking in relative terms.

In the end, all those people that have been bellyaching about THE HAUNTED making such a big leap forward in terms of style expansion on "The Dead Eye" (and yes, it's a great album) can always fall back on DEW-SCENTED to get their quick fixes. If you liked what you heard on past DEW-SCENTED releases, you'll like what you hear on "Incinerate". Don't expect to be surprised and you'll be just fine.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).