"In Sorte Diaboli"

(Nuclear Blast)

01. The Serpentine Offering
02. The Chosen Legacy
03. The Conspiracy Unfolds
04. The Ancestral Fever
05. The Sacrilegious Scorn
06. The Fallen Arise
07. The Sinister Awakening
08. The Fundamental Alienation
09. The Invaluable Darkness
10. The Foreshadowing Furnace

RATING: 9.5/10

Has it really been four years since the release of DIMMU BORGIR's "Death Cult Armageddon"? The ascent of the Norwegian act was a rapid one after the release of the masterpiece, the SoundScan numbers exceeding 100,000 and the band even appearing at Ozzfest. As such, the anticipation for "In Sorte Diaboli" has been off the scale, and the good news is that it is another skillfully assembled symphonic black metal album. I do believe "In Sorte Diaboli" to be at least of equal greatness to its predecessor. Aside from those equating the commercial success of an extreme metal band to some sort of lessening of its artistic relevance, most objective fans would have to at least praise the effort for its grandness of construction and consistency of quality.

What it really comes down to with DIMMU BORGIR are the arrangements. The group has always excelled at it, and "In Sorte Diaboli" is the ultimate example of it. Not only are the arrangements written for maximum impact, but also the album as a whole succeeds smashingly as a one-sitting listen, particularly compared to previous discs.

It could be that this increased musical cohesiveness relates directly to the fact that "In Sorte Diaboli" has been written as a concept album. Told through the journal entries of a Priest's assistant in medieval Europe, the concept concerns a struggle for a Christian truth that reveals a religion of abuse and hypocrisy, the rejection of God the final choice made. Though I am without album lyrics at this point, there is no question that the album sounds and feels like a story conveyed through these powerful and incredibly aggressive compositions.

Musically, "In Sorte Diaboli" is anything but a letdown. Rather, the compositions are built to last, the numerous stunning guitar and keyboard parts, as well as gripping tempo changes, belying the compactness of the songwriting. In other words, "In Sorte Diaboli" crams one hell of a lot of action into a five-minute song, including some monumental guitar playing and a tone that is even more molten than past efforts, thanks again to the outstanding production of Fredrik Nordström. The symphonic elements continue to be prominent, but reeled in a bit to allow the six-string violence and Hellhammer's furious drumming to lead the charge. Incidentally, Shagrath's vocals are exceptionally strong on the album and feature an increased emphasis on enunciation.

It is nearly impossible to pick a highlight track here, as not a blemish is to be found anywhere. "The Serpentine Offering" and "The Chosen Legacy" offer striking stop-on-a-dime pace changeups, amazing riffs, and memorable vocal lines (including those patented high-register singing parts in the case of the former), but then so do all the songs (not counting instrumental interlude "The Fallen Arise"). Sinister narrated vocal parts appear briefly in parts too, such as during "The Conspiracy Unfolds", which also happens to feature some raging groove riffing and soaring choral effects that are found at several points ("The Sacrilegious Scorn" is another great example, the track also including a beautiful piano break).

The highlights are many. It is the quick, rolling rhythm of "The Sinister Awakening", a nasty riff on "The Fundamental Alienation" that puts a snarl on the face, the stop-start riffing and sinister majesty of "The Invaluable Darkness", and the ominous chords of "The Foreshadowing Furnace", which serves as the album's climatic end. "In Sorte Diaboli" offers the listener so many opportunities to revel in its sonic bombast, its violent tendencies, and its amazing compositions. Regardless of whether you are a fan of the symphonic strain of black metal or one who merely appreciates extreme metal with arrangements that are both bellicose and intelligent, DIMMU BORGIR is a band with few equals. "In Sorte Diaboli" is proof of it. Put it on your year-end top 10 list now. Astonishing!


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).