"Ill Innocence"


01. At the Onset of the Age of Despair
02. Speed of Blood
03. Blind my Eyes
04. Delirious Daydreamer
05. Ripper the Gloom
06. Killed by the Queen
07. Song of Fall
08. Ashes World
09. Slog
10. Last Scary Dream

RATING: 8/10

Never underestimate the power of primitivism. THE STOOGES had it, DARKTHRONE has it, SUNNO))) has it, HELLHAMMER had it…you know the list. In each of those examples though, there is far more at work than a stripped down sound and a primal essence; it is indeed a matter of finding the sweet spot or failing miserably. One needs only look to the black metal progenitors and the '70s/'80s punk rock pioneers to understand what making music that you can feel in your bones is all about. You can now look to Japanese trio GALLHAMMER for a band that's "got it" too. On "Ill Innocence", the ladies have crafted a down ‘n' dirty mix of black metal, crusty punk rock, and mud-caked doom that works precisely because of its rudimentary approach.

Those decrying the basic arrangements have missed the point entirely, as the dark beauty of "Ill Innocence" is to be felt, not dissected in some vain search for compositional excellence or technical wankery. The manner in which GALLHAMMER sequences their album — most appropriately mastered by DARKTHRONE's Nocturno Culto — is just as important as the actual songs to make everything work, alternating doom, black metal, and punk in a way that achieves grand results. It could be the up-tempo and raw black metal of "Speed of Blood", the sludgy 'n' slow doom of "At the Onset of the Age of Despair", or rather 90s distorted, "alternative" sounds (ala SONIC YOUTH) of "Delirious Daydream" that makes the point. You will particularly enjoy the driving bass line and punky cadence, spiced up with a delightfully squeaky/girly vocal, of "Blind My Eyes", and the up-tempo-crust-by-way-of-HELLHAMMER on "Killed by the Queen". The style blend is done in a way that retains a constant sense of dread and a dirty sound, allowing variety, but never altering mood. And those gruff, grunting vocals are just plain perfect.

I'll not go overboard and declare "Ill Innocence" a masterwork, regardless of the satisfaction I've gotten from it time after time. However, GALLHAMMER have recorded a damn fine album that smokes, burns, and churns in all its primordial glory. Well done, ladies.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).