"III: In the Eyes of Fire"

(Metal Blade)

01. This Glorious Nightmare
02. Giles
03. March of the Mutes
04. Sanctity of Brothers
05. The Devil has Risen
06. This Time was Mine
07. Unstoppable
08. So It Goes
09. Imposters Kingdom
10. Bled Dry
11. Big Bear and the Hour of Chaos

RATING: 8/10

No, UNEARTH has not mellowed, nor have they altered their sound to fall in line with the oodles of growl 'n' crooners invading every mall in America. If you thought that "The Oncoming Storm" was a ripping American metal album, wait until you hear "III: In The Eyes of Fire". Enlisting producer Terry Date (PANTERA, DEFTONES, SOUNDGARDEN) and dispensing with the click track, UNEARTH leaves no stone unturned in creating a monstrous album that incorporates elements of everyone from IRON MAIDEN (guitar harmonies) to the best of the Swedish melodic death metal bands. The organic sound is hardly raw, but it is not nearly as polished as what was heard on "The Oncoming Storm".

The refusal to bow to trends or soften its sound is apparent from the opening notes of the ferocious "This Glorious Nightmare". Guitarists Ken Susi and Buz McGrath are the X factors here. Both unleash riff after heavy riff, as well as excellent MAIDEN-esque harmonizing and blazing solos. The dueling solos on "So it Goes" hint at the band's more traditional metallic influences. The album's bottom end is thick and reverberating due to John "Slo" Maggard's fat four-string and drummer Mike Justian's concrete-busting approach. The combination of dangerous riffing and twin guitar firepower is apparent all over the album. "Sanctity of Brothers" and "This Time was Mine" boast outstanding thrash licks and a fantastic melodic sensibility (especially the former), even amidst Trevor Phipps' unwavering scream-shout. At times it seems as if Phipps' from-the-gut, face-reddening vocal style will cause his head to explode at any moment. In short, you'll find no pretty vocalizing or anguished crooning here. There are several moments of rhythmic stomp and chunk riffing as well, "Unstoppable" and the title track two cases in point. Closing with instrumental "Big Bear and the Hour of Chaos", which includes enchanting piano playing, allows the lava-hot metal of the prior tracks to cool and the listener to regain equilibrium.

With a lot of upside, "III: In the Eyes of Fire" should disabuse anyone of the notion that UNEARTH is somehow just another metalcore band. Rather, UNEARTH is an aggressive METAL band with chops and an ability to write memorable songs. "III: In the Eyes of Fire" is proof of it.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).