"High Water"


01. Walk Away
02. Faded
03. Cut From The Same Cloth
04. Styrofoam Cup
05. Hellbound
06. W.F.L.W.F.
07. Don't Give a Damn
08. Hell or High Water
09. Wallet
10. 'Til the Wheels Fall Off
11. Kindness to the Dead

RATING: 7.5/10

Remember when the punk community lost its shit in '89 when MINOR THREAT/DAG NASTY legend Brian Baker turned up in a blues-based piss rock band? Funny when you consider punkers were quietly harboring a love of and subsequently forced to relinquish GUNS N' ROSES to the mass rock market once Baker cropped up in JUNKYARD, to the chagrin of many.

These days, Baker only contributes to, instead of hangs fully in JUNKYARD (BAD RELIGION and DAG NASTY reunion gigs being where you'll find him more often), while David Roach and Patrick Muzingo represent the remainder of the band's original lineup. To his credit, bassist Todd Muscat's been around since 1991. Between 1992 and 2000, JUNKYARD scrapped itself, resurrecting for nostalgic runs that never really amounted to anything beyond that. Now, 26 years since its self-titled album, JUNKYARD drops new material, an 11-song jaunt through its own red times, "High Water". Not much has changed between the two records, other than crisper production and far more polish. Thus, if you know this band, you know what you're getting.

The brisk opener, "Walk Away", is a grabber with an undeniable punk bend looming behind the tough riffs, slamming rhythm and snide vocals from David Roach, who sounds in terrific form. Hearing, "That's cool, man," uttered after this take really is cool, even as the AC/DC-thumped "Faded" picks up where JUNKYARD started on its 1989 album. JUNKYARD knows its identity and rather than muck with it, they follow the same ideal KROKUS has done over the years—assuming you consider that an ideal. "Faded" and "Cut From The Same Cloth" thereafter go straight to "Powerage" and "High Voltage" with little shame. If you're cool with that, they're agreeable numbers.

The easygoing blues shuck of "Styrofoam Cup" is easy to drown inside with the up-and-down riffs creating an intentional laze alongside slow-pulled guitar solos and a pleasingly tiring bass line from Todd Muscat. "Hellbound" thereafter takes another Bon Scott -era grab, as does "Kindness to the Dead" at the tail end of the album, with ear tickling, gut-plunking fuzz and gnarly rim taps from Patrick Muzingo. Amidst the AC/DC shakes is a purposeful aural inebriation that may toy with the claustrophobic.

Let's just cut to the chase here: JUNKYARD tries only a few new tricks outside the band’s comfort zone on "High Water". The group is thus content; declaring on the horny and lascivious "W.F.L.W.F." (as AC/DC as AC/DC gets), "We fuck like we fight, yeah we break everything in sight.” Changing it up with a Southern rawk shake on "Don't Give a Damn" and throwing a darker AC/DC twist upon THE BLACK CROWES with "Hell or High Water", the album's brightest spot comes with the reckless boogie-mosh spike of "Wallet".

For JUNKYARD's fans, "High Water" is a worthwhile wait. For casual listeners, it's a respectable if frequently lewd trip down memory lane, even though a large portion of those memories belong to someone else. Then again, what hard rock band of the past three decades hasn't done its damnedest to salute AC/DC and AEROSMITH at some point in its career?


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).