01. The Score
02. 365
03. Inferno
04. Countdown
05. Helix
06. Dream
07. GG6
08. Breakthrough Starshot
09. My Haven
10. Iconic
11. Unified
12. Momentum

RATING: 7/10

An outboard motor propeller has three blades, and the curvy, motional twirl is considered a circular helix. Swedish electro-rockers AMARANTHE has always housed three vocalists, two in the clean ranges and one in the hard. While the insanely talented Elize Ryd inherits most of the vocal duties, the dynamics of the three vocalists brought together in harmony through AMARANTHE's music could appreciatively be considered a helix in its own right.

With co-founder and male clean vocalist Joacim "Jake E" Lundberg permanently leaving the band in 2017, Elize Ryd finds herself flanked these days by Nils Molin, Lundberg's replacement, and scat-grunter, Henrik Englund Wilhelmsson. "Helix" is AMARANTHE's fifth album, and you're either in for a rapid-fire treat as an existing fan, or you're in for a sensory-overloaded introduction. Often referred to as a melodic metalcore act, AMARANTHE doesn't settle for such a primary dissemination. The band has nearly the same hype, interchangeable pitches, appetite for pop and lunatic energy of BABYMETAL. AMARANTHE impressively knocks out most of its busy, electro metal jams on "Helix" within three minutes, save for the near four comprising the agro-ballad "Unified".

Opening track, "The Score", charges with head-on steam as AMARANTHE throws its entire arsenal into a declaration of its pop-fused might, inclusive of glistening electronics, raining beats and the group's whirligig triumvirate of voices. The seamless pass offs between Ryd, Molin and Englund Wilhelmsson adds to "The Score"'s excitability. "365" thereafter is an EDM-kissed fusion of agro-pop, pitting KORN against Ariana Grande, if you will.

Englund Wilhelmsson's wolfs are intended to be barbaric, but they're as perfectly planted, and arguably glossed, as you'd want it without disrupting the sweetness and light Elize Ryd casts with dizzying composure. His position is reminiscent of MUSHROOMHEAD's Jason "J Mann" Popson's bark raps, but the way he matches Elize Ryd's dubstep-whirled huffs on "Dream", it becomes a surreal listening experience.

"Inferno" and the title cut pick up IN FLAMES' trail blazed from "The Quiet Place". "Inferno" is flipping hectic with Morten Løwe Sorensen's jackhammer, industrial groove plowing the way for the riffs. Those merely serve as a platform for AMARANTHE's swiftly changing vocal sections. In three minutes flat, the band pounds the crap out of everything with a clubbing rhythm on "Countdown". Before you can call "Countdown" a vehicle for Lady Gaga to make her would-be promenade into metal, the mood changes altogether, and Elize Ryd shows her the ease of the transition.

"GG6" is the heaviest and hardest-pumping number on the album; its only drag is the omnipresent breakdown-turned-primary tempo, but the dance-happy "Breakthrough Starshot" thereafter turns out to be the album's hottest groove. "Iconic" becomes the album's surprise moment, running mad with scorching thrash and pogoed-out choruses.

AMARANTHE is a bastard child bred of a ménage-a-trois staged between metalcore, dubstep and EDM, but the band has polished its act so greatly you have to at least admire its fluidity whether you dig the vibe or not. The unit may be too much to digest for the tens of thousands of grinding Molly eaters at Ultra Music Fest, but AMARANTHE fearlessly metal-raves with an invitation to millennial thrill seekers to take a look at its senses-bombing side-stage routine.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).